Good morning, I have a question: if a druid transforms into an ape using Wild Shape, can they replace the two fist attacks from the Multiattack feature to attempt to grapple twice? For example, if the first grapple attempt fails, can they use the second fist to attempt a second grapple?
Assuming your DM allows grappling as an Ape (it's fine for me), the next issue is whether you're technically making Unarmed Strikes when using Multiattack or when making a single melee attack from the statblock while in beast form.
Also, if you're using the Attack action to perform the Multiattack from the statblock, I'd say you should stick to the specific attacks listed there.
Mmm. Re-reading this answer from the updated SAC, the blue part probably confirms Unarmed Strikes and monsters' melee attacks, like those from a Beast, are considered different things (EDIT: as suggested in the linked thread)
What actions can monsters use to make Opportunity Attack? Are Multiattack and breath weapon actions allowed?
When making an Opportunity Attack, a monster can make any single melee attack listed in its stat block. A monster also has the option to make an Unarmed Strike as an Opportunity Attack, following the normal rules of an Unarmed Strike.
An action, such as a breath weapon effect, that doesn’t include a melee attack roll isn’t eligible to be chosen for an Opportunity Attack. Additionally, a monster can’t use its Multiattack when making an Opportunity Attack, because the use of Multiattack specifically predicates on taking the Attack action, and an Opportunity Attack takes a Reaction.
All creatures can make unarmed strikes. Assuming you were in a form that could grapple, you could choose to substitute a grapple for that unarmed strike. You would not, however, be able to do it as a multi-attack because the monsters attacks that are specified for use with multi-attack do not include the basic unarmed strikes.
Good morning, I have a question: if a druid transforms into an ape using Wild Shape, can they replace the two fist attacks from the Multiattack feature to attempt to grapple twice? For example, if the first grapple attempt fails, can they use the second fist to attempt a second grapple?
There's a similar debate here: moon druid animal form grappling
Assuming your DM allows grappling as an Ape (it's fine for me), the next issue is whether you're technically making Unarmed Strikes when using Multiattack or when making a single melee attack from the statblock while in beast form.
Also, if you're using the Attack action to perform the Multiattack from the statblock, I'd say you should stick to the specific attacks listed there.
EDIT: for clarity.
Mmm. Re-reading this answer from the updated SAC, the blue part probably confirms Unarmed Strikes and monsters' melee attacks, like those from a Beast, are considered different things (EDIT: as suggested in the linked thread)
All creatures can make unarmed strikes. Assuming you were in a form that could grapple, you could choose to substitute a grapple for that unarmed strike. You would not, however, be able to do it as a multi-attack because the monsters attacks that are specified for use with multi-attack do not include the basic unarmed strikes.
Technically no, however, I doubt it would cause game balance issures if your DM did allow it.
When an Ape takes the Attack Action, either it;
makes two Fist attacks.
OR
make one attack roll with a weapon or an Unarmed Strike, which may include Grappling.