My Draconic Sorcerer hit level 4 recently so I took the Elemental Adept feat because he focuses heavily on lightning damage. Casting chromatic orb it occurred to me that if I'm treating a 1 as a 2 and I'd rolled a 2 on another dice, would this qualify me to have the orb jump to another target. My DM allowed it since my build kinda limits be to certain spells thematically, and he felt it was a cool combination of features. I was just wondering if there was an official ruling on this, I don't want to take advantage of the situation if it definitively doesn't work this way.
To me the Chromatic Orb leap to a different target if you roll the same number on two or more of the d8s, which you don't do when Elemental Adept instead treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2.
To me the Chromatic Orb leap to a different target if you roll the same number on two or more of the d8s, which you don't do when Elemental Adept instead treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2.
Yeah, see that's where it gets weird for me. I guess it's whether or not treating a rolled 1 as a 2 counts as rolling a 2. I guess since you aren't re-rolling to get the 2 there's an argument for it not counting, but if Elemental Adept changes what you rolled into a 2, then is there really a difference. I think it's one of those that people will interpret how they choose.
I agree that it's vague enough to argue either way. Note, however, that doing so adds about 7% to the chance that it leaps on a 3d8 on what is already a 34% chance. Start upping the spell slot and that gets to very high percentages very quickly (though it does that natively).
I'd allow it, it only comes up when you rolled crap for damage so a feat that is supposed to help save your crap damage roll helping in this way fits for me.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
My Draconic Sorcerer hit level 4 recently so I took the Elemental Adept feat because he focuses heavily on lightning damage. Casting chromatic orb it occurred to me that if I'm treating a 1 as a 2 and I'd rolled a 2 on another dice, would this qualify me to have the orb jump to another target. My DM allowed it since my build kinda limits be to certain spells thematically, and he felt it was a cool combination of features. I was just wondering if there was an official ruling on this, I don't want to take advantage of the situation if it definitively doesn't work this way.
To me the Chromatic Orb leap to a different target if you roll the same number on two or more of the d8s, which you don't do when Elemental Adept instead treat any 1 on a damage die as a 2.
I'd rule the same way.
It reminds me of 2014 Chaos Bolt for which i don't think ever been any Sage Advice on such interaction.
Yeah, see that's where it gets weird for me. I guess it's whether or not treating a rolled 1 as a 2 counts as rolling a 2. I guess since you aren't re-rolling to get the 2 there's an argument for it not counting, but if Elemental Adept changes what you rolled into a 2, then is there really a difference. I think it's one of those that people will interpret how they choose.
I agree that it's vague enough to argue either way. Note, however, that doing so adds about 7% to the chance that it leaps on a 3d8 on what is already a 34% chance. Start upping the spell slot and that gets to very high percentages very quickly (though it does that natively).
I'll see how often it comes up. Maybe homebrew it as a once per game type thing if it ends up happening too regularly.
I'd allow it, it only comes up when you rolled crap for damage so a feat that is supposed to help save your crap damage roll helping in this way fits for me.