I have a circle of the moon Druid at my table. The rules for changing into and out of wildshape for a regular Druid have it as an action but for a circle of the moon, it’s a bonus action. He maintains that he can shift as a bonus OR an action because the rules aren’t clear. Thoughts?
Are you talking 2014 or 2024 rulesets? Because I believe 2014 it was an action, but 2024 it is always a Bonus action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war |Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
If OP is saying it's an action for the base class to wild shape they're using 2014 rules. I don't see a reason why a 2014 circle of the moon would be restricted to using their bonus action. The subclass feature doesn't replace the core class feature.
Hmm I think It does replace it in 2014 now I reread it: "When you choose this circle at 2nd level, you gain the ability to use Wild Shape on your turn as a bonus action, rather than as an action."
"It's rather than" which I would think means it replace it?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war |Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
@BonusAction Can Druids with Combat Wild Shape still perform Wild Shape as an action, or ONLY as a bonus action? @mikemearls you can do either - it doesn't replace the old option
Hmm I think It does replace it in 2014 now I reread it: "When you choose this circle at 2nd level, you gain the ability to use Wild Shape on your turn as a bonus action, rather than as an action."
"It's rather than" which I would think means it replace it?
Besides TarodNet quoting Mike Mearls, the combat wild shape feature says you gain the ability to use it as a bonus action rather than as an action. It's granting you an ability not taking one away or replacing one. It would say if it was replacing the core class feature.
Hmm I think It does replace it in 2014 now I reread it: "When you choose this circle at 2nd level, you gain the ability to use Wild Shape on your turn as a bonus action, rather than as an action."
"It's rather than" which I would think means it replace it?
But it says "you gain the ability", you are not required to use it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have a circle of the moon Druid at my table. The rules for changing into and out of wildshape for a regular Druid have it as an action but for a circle of the moon, it’s a bonus action. He maintains that he can shift as a bonus OR an action because the rules aren’t clear. Thoughts?
Are you talking 2014 or 2024 rulesets? Because I believe 2014 it was an action, but 2024 it is always a Bonus action.
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war | Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
This is right. Wild Shape is a Bonus Action for the 2024 Druid class.
If OP is saying it's an action for the base class to wild shape they're using 2014 rules. I don't see a reason why a 2014 circle of the moon would be restricted to using their bonus action. The subclass feature doesn't replace the core class feature.
Hmm I think It does replace it in 2014 now I reread it:
"When you choose this circle at 2nd level, you gain the ability to use Wild Shape on your turn as a bonus action, rather than as an action."
"It's rather than" which I would think means it replace it?
"grandpa" Salkur, Gnome Arti/Sorc: Forged in Chaos | Pepin, Human Arti/Cleric: Goblin horde | Mixtli, Volc Genasi Arti: Champions of the Citadel | Erix Vadalitis, Human Druid: Rising from the last war | Smithy, Human Arti: Night Ravens: Black orchids for Biscotti | Tamphalic Aliprax, Dragonborn Wizard: Chronicles of the Accursed | Doc, Dwarven Cleric (2024): Adventure at Hope's End | Abathax, Tiefling Illriger: Hunt for the Balowang | Gorin Mestel, Human Arti: Descend into Avernus
Not official 2014 ruling, but:
Besides TarodNet quoting Mike Mearls, the combat wild shape feature says you gain the ability to use it as a bonus action rather than as an action. It's granting you an ability not taking one away or replacing one. It would say if it was replacing the core class feature.
But it says "you gain the ability", you are not required to use it.