I have been comparing the starting equipment suggested for each class to the starting gold. For the most part I have seen a one-for-one, meaning the the total cost of the equipment equals the amount of gold. Then I got to the Wizard and here is what I found:
Starting Equipment: (2) Daggers - 4 gp (2 gp/dagger), (1) Arcane Focus (Quarterstaff) - 5 gp, (1) Robe - 1 gp, (1) Spellbook - 50 gp (from 2014 PHB since apparently it did not receive a 2024 update), (1) Scholar's Pack - 40 gp, 5 gp left over.
Starting Gold: 55 gp
When you add up the cost of the equipment, you get: 4+5+1+50+40+5=105 gp
If they are not supposed to be equivalent, then all is good, but I thought it strange. What have others done, if anything?
As a narrative/worldbuilding element, you could always say that the starting spellbook is something your Wizard created during their studies at the Blackstaff Academy (or Hogwarts), so that's the reason why it's free.
Spellbook. Your wizardly apprenticeship culminated in the creation of a unique book: your spellbook. It is a Tiny object that weighs 3 pounds, contains 100 pages, and can be read only by you or someone casting Identify. You determine the book’s appearance and materials, such as a gilt-edged tome or a collection of vellum bound with twine.
I always figured the intent of there not being an explicit value assigned to a spellbook in the 2024 rules was that it was meant to be something you create yourself rather than buy.
I always figured the intent of there not being an explicit value assigned to a spellbook in the 2024 rules was that it was meant to be something you create yourself rather than buy.
That's what I meant, but I messed up the verbs and words when I tried to write it down.
I have been comparing the starting equipment suggested for each class to the starting gold. For the most part I have seen a one-for-one, meaning the the total cost of the equipment equals the amount of gold. Then I got to the Wizard and here is what I found:
Starting Equipment: (2) Daggers - 4 gp (2 gp/dagger), (1) Arcane Focus (Quarterstaff) - 5 gp, (1) Robe - 1 gp, (1) Spellbook - 50 gp (from 2014 PHB since apparently it did not receive a 2024 update), (1) Scholar's Pack - 40 gp, 5 gp left over.
Starting Gold: 55 gp
When you add up the cost of the equipment, you get: 4+5+1+50+40+5=105 gp
If they are not supposed to be equivalent, then all is good, but I thought it strange. What have others done, if anything?
If you consider the Spellbook is worth 0, the count is good.
That makes a bit more sense.
As a narrative/worldbuilding element, you could always say that the starting spellbook is something your Wizard created during their studies at the Blackstaff Academy (or Hogwarts), so that's the reason why it's free.
EDIT: writing the right idea.
I always figured the intent of there not being an explicit value assigned to a spellbook in the 2024 rules was that it was meant to be something you create yourself rather than buy.
pronouns: he/she/they
That's what I meant, but I messed up the verbs and words when I tried to write it down.