I think "a space" here refers to the entire area within 10 feet of the pack. Otherwise, any surface of any area can be considered "a space". You could stretch that idea to the extreme, saying a space is as small as Plank's distance (10^-35 m), and therefore even moving 1 inch would result in astronomical damage :D
No not really considering that you only have to make the save (and thus take the damage) once per turn.
For Conjure Animals and Spirit Guardians, I'd say the creature also makes the saving throw as soon as the spell is cast and it's within the affected area.
[...] But for Spirit Guardians, the new wording in those spells was already discussed in previous threads, and I think the intent is the creatures are affected when you cast the Area of Effect overlapping them. You could also interpret "whenever the Emanation enters a creature’s space" as the Emanation entering that space when you cast the spell. [...]
I was wrong or, to be polite with myself, I changed my mind.
I just wanted to clarify that the area of effect of Conjure Animals is actually a 30'x30' square rather than a 10'x10' one depicted above.
To be thoroughly pedantic, the area affected is actually a 30x30 donut, not a square. The pack can't occupy the same space as another creature
I was revisiting the thread. Regarding the topic of other creatures being able to be in the same space, it's still not entirely clear to me :(
It's in the spell description
You have Advantage on Strength saving throws while you’re within 5 feet of the pack, and when you move on your turn, you can also move the pack up to 30 feet to an unoccupied space you can see.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
No not really considering that you only have to make the save (and thus take the damage) once per turn.
I was wrong or, to be polite with myself, I changed my mind.
After revisiting this thread and rereading the wording of some spells, it's as R3sistance, wagnarokkr or up2ng correctly said: when casting Spirit Guardians, a creature doesn't make a Saving Throw as soon as the spell is cast, unlike with Cloudkill, Moonbeam or Incendiary Cloud.
I was revisiting the thread. Regarding the topic of other creatures being able to be in the same space, it's still not entirely clear to me :(
I mentioned my doubt some time ago in Conjure Animals 2024 - Rules & Game Mechanics
It's in the spell description
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Yeah, I meant whether the pack, because it's intangible, can pass through the space of other creatures when you move it, or vice versa.