I've got a quick question for 2024 rules. If a character has CME running and casts a spell that has a saving throw (like fireball or lightning bolt) does the CME damage apply?
TECHNICALLY, you are using a magic action to cast a spell, not actually making an attack. So there could be an argument that it does not apply.
I've got a quick question for 2024 rules. If a character has CME running and casts a spell that has a saving throw (like fireball or lightning bolt) does the CME damage apply?
TECHNICALLY, you are using a magic action to cast a spell, not actually making an attack. So there could be an argument that it does not apply.
There is no argument at all, the rules are clear. The spell requires you to hit with an attack and that can be done with both weapons or spells, however NOT with a saving throw.
When you take the Attack action, you make an attack. Some other actions, Bonus Actions, and Reactions also let you make an attack. Whether you strike with a Melee weapon, fire a Ranged weapon, or make an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has the following structure:
Choose a Target. Pick a target within your attack’s range: a creature, an object, or a location.
Determine Modifiers. The DM determines whether the target has Cover (see the next section) and whether you have Advantage or Disadvantage against the target. In addition, spells, special abilities, and other effects can apply penalties or bonuses to your attack roll.
Resolve the Attack. Make the attack roll, as detailed earlier in this chapter. On a hit, you roll damage unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special effects in addition to or instead of damage.
No, it doesn't. Conjure Minor Elementals very specifically says it only applies to damage from attacks. Forcing a saving throw and making an attack are two different things.
There are a very small number of spells that do both, such as Ice Knife or the 2014 version of Ray of Sickness. In those cases the extra damage from Conjure Minor Elementals would only apply to the attack part.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I've got a quick question for 2024 rules. If a character has CME running and casts a spell that has a saving throw (like fireball or lightning bolt) does the CME damage apply?
TECHNICALLY, you are using a magic action to cast a spell, not actually making an attack. So there could be an argument that it does not apply.
There is no argument at all, the rules are clear. The spell requires you to hit with an attack and that can be done with both weapons or spells, however NOT with a saving throw.
From the PHB.
No, it doesn't. Conjure Minor Elementals very specifically says it only applies to damage from attacks. Forcing a saving throw and making an attack are two different things.
There are a very small number of spells that do both, such as Ice Knife or the 2014 version of Ray of Sickness. In those cases the extra damage from Conjure Minor Elementals would only apply to the attack part.
pronouns: he/she/they