Ok so I've been wondering if a creature can take the dash action if their movement speed is 0, I understand they won't gain any additional benefit as the dash action only grants movement equal to your speed. I'm asking this for a couple of reasons, 1 it's to settle a debate with a friend and 2 it's because of a combo with the Oath of Conquest Paladin and the Fear spell.
If you don't know the Fear spell inflicts the frightened condition(I know shocker right) however they can only repeat the save to get out of it if they can't see you and the spell also forces them to use their action to dash and that's the only thing they can do with it. The Oath of Conquest Paladin has an Aura where creatures with the frightened condition have their movement speed reduced to 0 inside the aura, meaning even if they dash they gain 0 benefit and can't leave but the Fear spell is forcing them to dash but if by the rules they can't take the dash action then that's a different story. Even if it's allowed I don't honestly think it's that bad considering most DnD 5e creatures have immunity to the frightened condition so yeah. I've linked the Fear spell to the word Fear and have copy pasted the Oath of Conquest feature down below.
Aura of Conquest
Starting at 7th level, you constantly emanate a menacing aura while you're not incapacitated. The aura extends 10 feet from you in every direction, but not through total cover.
If a creature is frightened of you, its speed is reduced to 0 while in the aura, and that creature takes psychic damage equal to half your paladin level if it starts its turn there.
At 18th level, the range of this aura increases to 30 feet.
When you take the Dash action, you gain extra movement for the current turn. The increase equals your speed, after applying any modifiers. With a speed of 30 feet, for example, you can move up to 60 feet on your turn if you dash.
Any increase or decrease to your speed changes this additional movement by the same amount. If your speed of 30 feet is reduced to 15 feet, for instance, you can move up to 30 feet this turn if you dash.
Yes, you can Dash even when your speed is 0. When you do, your speed is increased by 0, for a total of 0.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Ok so I've been wondering if a creature can take the dash action if their movement speed is 0, I understand they won't gain any additional benefit as the dash action only grants movement equal to your speed. I'm asking this for a couple of reasons, 1 it's to settle a debate with a friend and 2 it's because of a combo with the Oath of Conquest Paladin and the Fear spell.
If you don't know the Fear spell inflicts the frightened condition(I know shocker right) however they can only repeat the save to get out of it if they can't see you and the spell also forces them to use their action to dash and that's the only thing they can do with it. The Oath of Conquest Paladin has an Aura where creatures with the frightened condition have their movement speed reduced to 0 inside the aura, meaning even if they dash they gain 0 benefit and can't leave but the Fear spell is forcing them to dash but if by the rules they can't take the dash action then that's a different story. Even if it's allowed I don't honestly think it's that bad considering most DnD 5e creatures have immunity to the frightened condition so yeah. I've linked the Fear spell to the word Fear and have copy pasted the Oath of Conquest feature down below.
Aura of Conquest
Starting at 7th level, you constantly emanate a menacing aura while you're not incapacitated. The aura extends 10 feet from you in every direction, but not through total cover.
If a creature is frightened of you, its speed is reduced to 0 while in the aura, and that creature takes psychic damage equal to half your paladin level if it starts its turn there.
At 18th level, the range of this aura increases to 30 feet.
Nothing about the dash action says you cannot take it when your speed is zero, it just doesn't do anything.
Yes, you can Dash even when your speed is 0. When you do, your speed is increased by 0, for a total of 0.