So it appears that the 2024 rules require any character to have a spell prepared to cast it as a ritual.
I've quickly scanned the wizard rules again, and it looks like they lost their advantage in this department. IE: in 2014, wizards just needed the spell to be in their spellbook to cast it as a ritual (if it was a ritual spell).
Now they have to waste a spell preparation on Detect Magic? Comprehend Languages? Alarm?
Sigh. Really hope I'm wrong about this. It was _extremely_ convenient that wizards could do this.
You can cast any spell as a Ritual if that spell has the Ritual tag and the spell is in your spellbook. You needn’t have the spell prepared, but you must read from the book to cast a spell in this way.
So it appears that the 2024 rules require any character to have a spell prepared to cast it as a ritual.I've quickly scanned the wizard rules again, and it looks like they lost their advantage in this department. IE: in 2014, wizards just needed the spell to be in their spellbook to cast it as a ritual (if it was a ritual spell).Now they have to waste a spell preparation on Detect Magic? Comprehend Languages? Alarm?Sigh. Really hope I'm wrong about this. It was _extremely_ convenient that wizards could do this.(They don't have to prep them; sorry)
Thank you; i skimmed too quickly.
You're welcome, happy I could help!