So taking from 2024 era monk, but I'm sure it mostly applied to 2014 era;
MARTIAL ARTS
You gain the following benefits when unarmed or wielding only Monk weapons, provided you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield.
• You can make an Unarmed Strike as a Bonus Action.
• You can roll 1d6 in place of the normal damage from your Unarmed Strikes or Monk weapons.
• You can use Dex. instead of Str. for the attack and damage rolls of your Unarmed Strikes and Monk Weapons. In addition, when you use the Grapple or Shove option of your Unarmed Strike, you can use Dex. instead of Str. to determine the save DC.
QUESTION
barring the use of Kensei monk, would a monk holding, say, a dart, or a sling, therefore "wielding" them, lead to the Martial Arts feature being disabled?
The set of weapons that count as "monk weapons" is slightly different between the 2014 and 2024 rules, but in either case wielding a weapon not on the appropriate list disables the Martial Arts feature, just as if you were wearing armor.
In practice, I suspect most DMs probably wouldn't enforce that if you were just holding a dart in your hand for some reason without any intent to use it as a weapon, but that situation is probably extremely rare.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So taking from 2024 era monk, but I'm sure it mostly applied to 2014 era;
MARTIAL ARTS
You gain the following benefits when unarmed or wielding only Monk weapons, provided you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a Shield.
• You can make an Unarmed Strike as a Bonus Action.
• You can roll 1d6 in place of the normal damage from your Unarmed Strikes or Monk weapons.
• You can use Dex. instead of Str. for the attack and damage rolls of your Unarmed Strikes and Monk Weapons. In addition, when you use the Grapple or Shove option of your Unarmed Strike, you can use Dex. instead of Str. to determine the save DC.
QUESTION
barring the use of Kensei monk, would a monk holding, say, a dart, or a sling, therefore "wielding" them, lead to the Martial Arts feature being disabled?
That's correct.
The set of weapons that count as "monk weapons" is slightly different between the 2014 and 2024 rules, but in either case wielding a weapon not on the appropriate list disables the Martial Arts feature, just as if you were wearing armor.
In practice, I suspect most DMs probably wouldn't enforce that if you were just holding a dart in your hand for some reason without any intent to use it as a weapon, but that situation is probably extremely rare.
pronouns: he/she/they