Since Cleave uses melee attack rolls and it doesn't count as a Bonus Action or Reaction, does that mean you can activate Cleave with Sentinel and Riposte as long as the conditions are met (2 enemies within 5' of each other)?
Yes. You can use Cleave only once per turn, but there is nothing limiting it to your turn, so if you get a reaction attack somehow and have enemies close enough together, Cleave away.
Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your turn. You can use this special reaction only to make an opportunity attack, and you can’t use it on the same turn that you take your normal reaction.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Since Cleave uses melee attack rolls and it doesn't count as a Bonus Action or Reaction, does that mean you can activate Cleave with Sentinel and Riposte as long as the conditions are met (2 enemies within 5' of each other)?
Yes. You can use Cleave only once per turn, but there is nothing limiting it to your turn, so if you get a reaction attack somehow and have enemies close enough together, Cleave away.
The Cavalier's capstone is great here
Another example where you can use Cleave is with the Hew benefit from Great Weapon Master.
And if you rule that the opposite end of the weapon also benefits from Weapon Mastery properties, then Cleave could even be used with the Pole Strike benefit from Polearm Master (related thread: Polearm Master w/magic weapon and weapon mastery)
Where do I find Caviler? I don't see it in the 2024 PHB. That is the only book I have.
It is a Fighter sub-class from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything, we'll just have to wait and see if it is re-published in future books.
This is the capstone feature mentioned.