In 2014 rules, how is resolved following situation?
Creature is just outside of the area of Evards black tentacles. Then, some effect pushes the creature in the area, but the push is for 30 ft.
Is the dex save of tentacles triggered immediately upon entering the area? What happens if dex save fails and creature becomes restrained? Does it continue to be pushed for remaining distance, potentially pushing it outside of the spell area on the other side? What happens then, does it remain restrained if outside of tentacles?
A Restrained creature can't move under its own power — its Speed is 0 — but it can be moved by other forces as normal. In your example, the creature would keep moving however far it's supposed to be based on whatever effect was moving it, and it would stay Restrained until the spell ends or until it uses an action to make a Strength or Dexterity check to free itself. This is because the spell doesn't say that leaving the area ends the condition.
This is a bit narratively weird, but one could imagine that the tentacles are not rooted to the ground and may stick to the creature and still inhibit its movement even if it has been forcibly moved out of the affected area.
Firstly, forced movement doesn't matter for abilities such as Evard's Black Tentacles that care about when a creature enters an area. Once the creature enters, the ability goes off.
As for the restrained effect on forced movement, (2014) restrained says:
A restrained creature's speed becomes 0, and it can't benefit from any bonus to its speed.
Attack rolls against the creature have advantage, and the creature's attack rolls have disadvantage.
The creature has disadvantage on Dexterity saving throws.
Only the first bullet is relevant—speed becomes 0 and can't benefit from bonuses to speed. Now forced movement doesn't care about speed, it just moves you. So being restrained wouldn't affect a creature in the process of being moved. So let's break down the sequence of events
Creature is pushed
Creature enters the area of the spell
Creature makes a dex save and fails
Creature takes 3d6 bludgeoning damage and is restrained until the spell ends
Creatures speed is 0 and can't gain speed bonuses
Forced movement doesn't care about speed, so you resolve the remaining forced movement of 30ft
Assuming the simplest scenario, the creature would emerge on the opposite side of the spells area, having taken damage and still restrained
A Restrained creature can't move under its own power — its Speed is 0 — but it can be moved by other forces as normal.
Interestingly, this is a change. The restrained condition was first introduced in 4th edition AFAIK (it's not in the 3.5 SRD but I can't rule out a secondary book), in which edition it did explicitly prevent forced movement.
I agree with the above, it might become a somewhat weird situation but magic does that sometimes, it is hardly game breaking in any way.
In this specific case it's pretty easy to imagine some of the tentacles stretching outside of their initial AoE to maintain their hold on a creature
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue) Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
In 2014 rules, how is resolved following situation?
Creature is just outside of the area of Evards black tentacles. Then, some effect pushes the creature in the area, but the push is for 30 ft.
Is the dex save of tentacles triggered immediately upon entering the area? What happens if dex save fails and creature becomes restrained? Does it continue to be pushed for remaining distance, potentially pushing it outside of the spell area on the other side? What happens then, does it remain restrained if outside of tentacles?
A Restrained creature can't move under its own power — its Speed is 0 — but it can be moved by other forces as normal. In your example, the creature would keep moving however far it's supposed to be based on whatever effect was moving it, and it would stay Restrained until the spell ends or until it uses an action to make a Strength or Dexterity check to free itself. This is because the spell doesn't say that leaving the area ends the condition.
This is a bit narratively weird, but one could imagine that the tentacles are not rooted to the ground and may stick to the creature and still inhibit its movement even if it has been forcibly moved out of the affected area.
pronouns: he/she/they
Let's work through this step by step
Firstly, forced movement doesn't matter for abilities such as Evard's Black Tentacles that care about when a creature enters an area. Once the creature enters, the ability goes off.
As for the restrained effect on forced movement, (2014) restrained says:
Only the first bullet is relevant—speed becomes 0 and can't benefit from bonuses to speed. Now forced movement doesn't care about speed, it just moves you. So being restrained wouldn't affect a creature in the process of being moved. So let's break down the sequence of events
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I agree with the above, it might become a somewhat weird situation but magic does that sometimes, it is hardly game breaking in any way.
Interestingly, this is a change. The restrained condition was first introduced in 4th edition AFAIK (it's not in the 3.5 SRD but I can't rule out a secondary book), in which edition it did explicitly prevent forced movement.
In this specific case it's pretty easy to imagine some of the tentacles stretching outside of their initial AoE to maintain their hold on a creature
Active characters:
Edoumiaond Willegume "Eddie" Podslee, Vegetanian scholar (College of Spirits bard)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator (Assassin rogue)
Peter "the Pied Piper" Hausler, human con artist/remover of vermin (Circle of the Shepherd druid)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Or the tentacles are not necessarily anchored and can leave the area of effect curled around the creature rather than stretching indefinitely.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
I mainly want to know what is the 30 foot shove doing this. with its 20 foot area its rare to be pushed all the way through.