I am hoping to get some clarification on how the wording of the Healer feat interacts with Natural Healing Boost feature of the Periapt of Wound Closure. The Healer feat states “…(a) creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of hit points equal to the roll plus your proficiency bonus.”
The Natural Healing Boost feature of the Periapt of Wound Closure states, “whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain hit points, double the number of hit points it restores.”
RAW if the character using the Healer feat is attuned to a Periapt of Wound Closure, do they double the healing as they are the ones rolling the Hit Point Dice? What if the character being healed is attuned to the Periapt instead?
I would rule that if the Healer feat is being used, it applies to the Periapt of Wound Closure, and it doesn't matter which specific player is rolling the die.
I don't think the interaction is intended, but RAW, there is no distinction. I think RAW, when the periapt wearer rolls a hit point die to regain hit points, the healing is doubled. It is not explicit, but I think it is implied that only the healing from the die roll is doubled, not, for example, the proficiency bonus from Battle Medic.
I think the intention is that only when the wearer expends a hit die for themselves does it take effect (it was written, IMO, around expending hit dice for natural healing). So, you can't wear a Periapt of Wound Closure to get double healing from the Battle Medic when used on other creatures. (Again, I don't think RAW makes this distinction.)
I don't think the interaction is intended, but RAW, there is no distinction. I think RAW, when the periapt wearer rolls a hit point die to regain hit points, the healing is doubled. It is not explicit, but I think it is implied that only the healing from the die roll is doubled, not, for example, the proficiency bonus from Battle Medic.
I think the intention is that only when the wearer expends a hit die for themselves does it take effect (it was written, IMO, around expending hit dice for natural healing). So, you can't wear a Periapt of Wound Closure to get double healing from the Battle Medic when used on other creatures. (Again, I don't think RAW makes this distinction.)
Tbf the wording in RAW: "Whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain Hit Points, double the number of Hit Points it restores." That you is referencing the person reading the card aka the person wearing the item. Meanwhile on Healer is says "That creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of Hit Points equal to the roll plus your Proficiency Bonus." Again very clearly saying the creature (aka PC wearing the item) expends the HD but the PC with the feat is the one rolling and adding their PB.
So the Magic Item doubling only works if the PC wearing the item is also the one doing the rolling. So RAW at least a PC wearing the item being healed by someone else does not double the HD roll, but one could argue that the wording is just ambiguous enough that a PC wearing the item and trying to heal someone else would indeed double the roll. Since the item does not specify the healing is being done to the wearer of the item. You could argue that rolling hit point die to regain hit points means your own HP, but it does not say "you roll a Hit Point Die to regain your Hit Points: which means rolling the die to regain hit points for someone else could be read to be part of the item's effects.
I don't think the interaction is intended, but RAW, there is no distinction. I think RAW, when the periapt wearer rolls a hit point die to regain hit points, the healing is doubled. It is not explicit, but I think it is implied that only the healing from the die roll is doubled, not, for example, the proficiency bonus from Battle Medic.
I think the intention is that only when the wearer expends a hit die for themselves does it take effect (it was written, IMO, around expending hit dice for natural healing). So, you can't wear a Periapt of Wound Closure to get double healing from the Battle Medic when used on other creatures. (Again, I don't think RAW makes this distinction.)
Tbf the wording in RAW: "Whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain Hit Points, double the number of Hit Points it restores." That you is referencing the person reading the card aka the person wearing the item. Meanwhile on Healer is says "That creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of Hit Points equal to the roll plus your Proficiency Bonus." Again very clearly saying the creature (aka PC wearing the item) expends the HD but the PC with the feat is the one rolling and adding their PB.
So the Magic Item doubling only works if the PC wearing the item is also the one doing the rolling. So RAW at least a PC wearing the item being healed by someone else does not double the HD roll, but one could argue that the wording is just ambiguous enough that a PC wearing the item and trying to heal someone else would indeed double the roll. Since the item does not specify the healing is being done to the wearer of the item. You could argue that rolling hit point die to regain hit points means your own HP, but it does not say "you roll a Hit Point Die to regain your Hit Points: which means rolling the die to regain hit points for someone else could be read to be part of the item's effects.
Yes, exactly, RAW, you can make the argument that a Healer using Battle Medic while wearing a Periapt of Wound Closure doubles the healing given out to everyone. However, the healing in this case is not a simple hit die, but a hit die plus proficiency bonus. So, if using this interpretation does it double the die result or double the total healing? That is the outstanding question in regards to the RAW interpretation.
However, as mentioned, I don't think that the RAW reading is the RAI correct interpretation.
I don't think the interaction is intended, but RAW, there is no distinction. I think RAW, when the periapt wearer rolls a hit point die to regain hit points, the healing is doubled. It is not explicit, but I think it is implied that only the healing from the die roll is doubled, not, for example, the proficiency bonus from Battle Medic.
I think the intention is that only when the wearer expends a hit die for themselves does it take effect (it was written, IMO, around expending hit dice for natural healing). So, you can't wear a Periapt of Wound Closure to get double healing from the Battle Medic when used on other creatures. (Again, I don't think RAW makes this distinction.)
Tbf the wording in RAW: "Whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain Hit Points, double the number of Hit Points it restores." That you is referencing the person reading the card aka the person wearing the item. Meanwhile on Healer is says "That creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of Hit Points equal to the roll plus your Proficiency Bonus." Again very clearly saying the creature (aka PC wearing the item) expends the HD but the PC with the feat is the one rolling and adding their PB.
So the Magic Item doubling only works if the PC wearing the item is also the one doing the rolling. So RAW at least a PC wearing the item being healed by someone else does not double the HD roll, but one could argue that the wording is just ambiguous enough that a PC wearing the item and trying to heal someone else would indeed double the roll. Since the item does not specify the healing is being done to the wearer of the item. You could argue that rolling hit point die to regain hit points means your own HP, but it does not say "you roll a Hit Point Die to regain your Hit Points: which means rolling the die to regain hit points for someone else could be read to be part of the item's effects.
Yes, exactly, RAW, you can make the argument that a Healer using Battle Medic while wearing a Periapt of Wound Closure doubles the healing given out to everyone. However, the healing in this case is not a simple hit die, but a hit die plus proficiency bonus. So, if using this interpretation does it double the die result or double the total healing? That is the outstanding question in regards to the RAW interpretation.
However, as mentioned, I don't think that the RAW reading is the RAI correct interpretation.
Well when you normally roll a hit die you also add your con modifier to it. So the Periapt would normally be HDx2+CON. So I think with Battle Medic it would be HDx2+PB. To follow the wording of double the hit points the dice restores, not double the amount of healing you receive.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am hoping to get some clarification on how the wording of the Healer feat interacts with Natural Healing Boost feature of the Periapt of Wound Closure. The Healer feat states “…(a) creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of hit points equal to the roll plus your proficiency bonus.”
The Natural Healing Boost feature of the Periapt of Wound Closure states, “whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain hit points, double the number of hit points it restores.”
RAW if the character using the Healer feat is attuned to a Periapt of Wound Closure, do they double the healing as they are the ones rolling the Hit Point Dice? What if the character being healed is attuned to the Periapt instead?
I would rule that if the Healer feat is being used, it applies to the Periapt of Wound Closure, and it doesn't matter which specific player is rolling the die.
I agree; it would seem very silly to have rules that depend on which specific real person is actually rolling a die.
pronouns: he/she/they
I don't think the interaction is intended, but RAW, there is no distinction. I think RAW, when the periapt wearer rolls a hit point die to regain hit points, the healing is doubled. It is not explicit, but I think it is implied that only the healing from the die roll is doubled, not, for example, the proficiency bonus from Battle Medic.
I think the intention is that only when the wearer expends a hit die for themselves does it take effect (it was written, IMO, around expending hit dice for natural healing). So, you can't wear a Periapt of Wound Closure to get double healing from the Battle Medic when used on other creatures. (Again, I don't think RAW makes this distinction.)
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
Tbf the wording in RAW: "Whenever you roll a Hit Point Die to regain Hit Points, double the number of Hit Points it restores." That you is referencing the person reading the card aka the person wearing the item. Meanwhile on Healer is says "That creature can expend one of its Hit Point Dice, and you then roll that die. The creature regains a number of Hit Points equal to the roll plus your Proficiency Bonus." Again very clearly saying the creature (aka PC wearing the item) expends the HD but the PC with the feat is the one rolling and adding their PB.
So the Magic Item doubling only works if the PC wearing the item is also the one doing the rolling. So RAW at least a PC wearing the item being healed by someone else does not double the HD roll, but one could argue that the wording is just ambiguous enough that a PC wearing the item and trying to heal someone else would indeed double the roll. Since the item does not specify the healing is being done to the wearer of the item. You could argue that rolling hit point die to regain hit points means your own HP, but it does not say "you roll a Hit Point Die to regain your Hit Points: which means rolling the die to regain hit points for someone else could be read to be part of the item's effects.
Yes, exactly, RAW, you can make the argument that a Healer using Battle Medic while wearing a Periapt of Wound Closure doubles the healing given out to everyone. However, the healing in this case is not a simple hit die, but a hit die plus proficiency bonus. So, if using this interpretation does it double the die result or double the total healing? That is the outstanding question in regards to the RAW interpretation.
However, as mentioned, I don't think that the RAW reading is the RAI correct interpretation.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
Well when you normally roll a hit die you also add your con modifier to it. So the Periapt would normally be HDx2+CON. So I think with Battle Medic it would be HDx2+PB. To follow the wording of double the hit points the dice restores, not double the amount of healing you receive.