The relevant section of the Item's Rules is as follows:
Dousing a Creature or an Object. When you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with throwing an Oil flask. Target one creature or object within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw (DC 8 plus your Dexterity modifier and Proficiency Bonus) or be covered in oil. If the target takes Fire damage before the oil dries (after 1 minute), the target takes an extra 5 Fire damage from burning oil.
The question I have is whether the extra Fire damage dealt by the burning oil is dealt only the first time a creature takes Fire damage before the oil dries, or if the extra Fire damage is dealt each time the creature takes Fire damage before the oil dries.
I mean, if you're playing strict RAW, it's an extra 5 damage every time they take fire damage for 1 minute after application. The only expiration condition given is the oil drying.
If I were DMing, I'd take my cue from the burning area: getting hit by fire is an extra 5 damage once, and then it burns for 2 rounds, dealing 5 damage at the end of each of their turns for those 2 rounds unless they take an action to put it out (or something happens which should extinguish it, like being hit by cold damage).
(I would also scatter the oil flask 5' if they pass their dex saving throw, and rule that square had oil applied to it - the oil flask shouldn't disappear into the ether just because they dodged it.)
I'm honestly not sure why it's a dex save instead of a ranged attack roll. :shrug:
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The relevant section of the Item's Rules is as follows:
Dousing a Creature or an Object. When you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with throwing an Oil flask. Target one creature or object within 20 feet of yourself. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw (DC 8 plus your Dexterity modifier and Proficiency Bonus) or be covered in oil. If the target takes Fire damage before the oil dries (after 1 minute), the target takes an extra 5 Fire damage from burning oil.
The question I have is whether the extra Fire damage dealt by the burning oil is dealt only the first time a creature takes Fire damage before the oil dries, or if the extra Fire damage is dealt each time the creature takes Fire damage before the oil dries.
You have a similar question here: issue of oil rules
From that thread, and just my opinion: the oil burns only once and is then consumed.
I mean, if you're playing strict RAW, it's an extra 5 damage every time they take fire damage for 1 minute after application. The only expiration condition given is the oil drying.
If I were DMing, I'd take my cue from the burning area: getting hit by fire is an extra 5 damage once, and then it burns for 2 rounds, dealing 5 damage at the end of each of their turns for those 2 rounds unless they take an action to put it out (or something happens which should extinguish it, like being hit by cold damage).
(I would also scatter the oil flask 5' if they pass their dex saving throw, and rule that square had oil applied to it - the oil flask shouldn't disappear into the ether just because they dodged it.)
I'm honestly not sure why it's a dex save instead of a ranged attack roll. :shrug: