While creating a new character last day, a doubt came up about using the Battle Medic benefit on yourself, and I remembered a discussion about this kind of wording in the thread Does Interception Fighting Style also apply to the player?
The Battle Medic benefit doesn't include the "can include yourself" from the Inspiring Leader feat or, just to give other examples, the Level 3: Blessing of the Trickster, Level 3: Preserve Life or Level 3: Healing Light features.
So, I'd like to hear what others think about whether this is allowed or intended. Thanks!
Yes, it can be used on yourself. At higher levels when Healer's Kits it would likely be a more efficient use of your hit dice than using them on a short rest (you get the die+PB instead of +CON as on a short rest).
Sometimes, I wish the rules were well templated. After writing the post, I noticed other features where the wording is also explicit about including yourself as an option, but even then, they don't always use the same pattern or structure (e.g. Level 15: Bulwark of Force, Chalice (Level 3: Starry Form), Level 1: Lay On Hands, Level 3: Inspiring Smite, Level 15: Glorious Defense, or Level 6: Bastion of Law)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
While creating a new character last day, a doubt came up about using the Battle Medic benefit on yourself, and I remembered a discussion about this kind of wording in the thread Does Interception Fighting Style also apply to the player?
The Battle Medic benefit doesn't include the "can include yourself" from the Inspiring Leader feat or, just to give other examples, the Level 3: Blessing of the Trickster, Level 3: Preserve Life or Level 3: Healing Light features.
So, I'd like to hear what others think about whether this is allowed or intended. Thanks!
It says "you can tend to a creature within 5 feet of yourself." It does not say "other than you."
Are you within 5 feet of yourself? Yes. Therefore, you can use it on yourself.
EDIT: Battle Medic says "a creature," Interception says "another creature." The "a" can include you, the "another" explicitly means "not you."
Yes, it can be used on yourself. At higher levels when Healer's Kits it would likely be a more efficient use of your hit dice than using them on a short rest (you get the die+PB instead of +CON as on a short rest).
Same opinion then. Thanks both!
Sometimes, I wish the rules were well templated. After writing the post, I noticed other features where the wording is also explicit about including yourself as an option, but even then, they don't always use the same pattern or structure (e.g. Level 15: Bulwark of Force, Chalice (Level 3: Starry Form), Level 1: Lay On Hands, Level 3: Inspiring Smite, Level 15: Glorious Defense, or Level 6: Bastion of Law)