If you have a Ring of Spell Storing and it has the Find Familiar, does it work? If so and a Warlock does the spell do you get to choose from the extra selections? Another thing I was curious about is if you cast it then unattuned the ring would it stay or just disappear? If it did stay could you still use all the spells features like putting it in a pocket dimension and the connection/spell casting touch spells from it or would you lose those and just have a magic companion that doesn't do anything?
For the Find Steed spell, sorta all the same questions if you cast it from the ring then unattuned to it would it disappear or stay? If it stayed would it still get the Life Bond, Telepathy for 1 mile, or any of its Bonus Actions?
The last part of the ring description is "While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space." so if they did work they wouldn't affect the original casters Familiar or Steed they would be completely the characters own familiar or steed.
Sorry for so many ifs but I am truly curious and I know at the end of the day its what the DM says but I am wondering what others think of this, I have asked a few and they all have different answers to the question. One said yes to it staying in full power and another saying it could turn on you for summoning it, after the unattunement happens.
I am just looking for others input about this so I can better understand the limitations the ring should have naturally compared to what my DM friends would allow. Thanks for any comments or thoughts on this subject.
You get a familiar. Ring of Spell Storing allows you to cast the spell, so the spell takes place with you as the caster.
Warlocks only get their expanded options if they have the Pact of the Chain Invocation, that's a property of the Invocation, not of their class.
Unattuning from the Ring of Spell Storing doesn't take away the familiar; the familiar was summoned by a spell with a duration of Instantaneous. What this means is the magic happens then the spell is resolved. There's nothing to dispel, nothing to disappear. However, if your familiar dies, you'll have to resummon it, so you might need that ring again later on.
In line with the Instantaneous timing, the familiar is yours for good as long as it lives. You can use all the traits it gains from the spell, including casting through it and the pocket dimension.
Find Steed:
Basic rules above, same apply. Instantaneous duration means it stays and keeps all of its traits indefinitely. Point 3 I made above still applies though.
Stats are affected by the original caster; see below.
General Use:
You're correct that the original caster's familiar/steed would be unaffected by your use of the ring for this. Normally, the clauses in Find Familiar and Find Steed would kick in when the caster casts the spell into the ring, as they're casting the spell again. However, this is overwritten by the Ring of Spell Storing: "The spell has no effect other than to be stored in the ring."
I'll note that the original caster's stats being used means the Otherworldly Steed's to-hit and DCs are affected by those of the original caster at the time that they cast the spell, and whether or not it has a Fly speed is based on the level of the spell cast into the ring (as it can be upcast into the ring, and is treated as the higher level of spell).
---
Having toyed with having a wizard who used this trick, I'd like to point out that it's not terribly powerful to deal with. Even the wizard gaining Find Steed and being able to cast it at higher-than-Paladin levels isn't a huge deal; a 9th-level casting is AC 19, 95 HP. At 17th level, that's not a terribly huge deal for a DM to deal with, as that's when you're dealing with world-ending threats.
Okay thanks for your help. I was sorta on the fence about the Find Familiar and the Warlock thing, I had a DM saying he would allow it and others saying no, so felt like I should ask for more feedback and how you explained it makes perfect since. But I do have a follow up question and are you able to upcast the spells in the ring and use your spell slot?? Because I know the normal Ring of Spell Storing can hold up to 5 spell levels of spells, but you are talking about a Wizard up casting it to a 9th level spell with the ring?? or did they just learn the spell and could up cast it if they wanted?
Also I'm not trying for something powerful but it popped into my head and could be used for roll playing purposes or to get us around more quickly since some of our players are using the 2014 species and have a 25ft speed. I am playing a Shadow Monk and if my familiar can see the shadows that are within 60ft of me that I normally couldn't see I could because of a wall or whatever I should still be able to Shadow Step to them but this is only useful outside of combat since Shadow Step and Telepathic Connection are both a Bonus Action.
Thank you again for answering with it all broken down like you did made it easy for me to understand.
You are not able to upcast the spells in the Ring.
The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.
However! I mentioned the level the spell is cast into the ring earlier when discussing the impact of the original caster's stats on the Find Steed spell. There's a reason for this:
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell takes on the higher level for that casting. For instance, if a Wizard casts Magic Missile using a level 2 slot, that Magic Missile is level 2. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
If a Paladin casts Find Steed into the Ring of Spell Storing at level 4 or higher, it takes up 4 spell levels in the ring until cast, and the Otherworldly Steed has a fly speed when summoned.
As for the wizard, I was using my own character as a reference. The wizard had a Ruby Weave Gem, allowing them to use other classes' spells. But a multiclass Paladin 5 / Sorcerer 15 would have 9th-level spell slots (being an 18th-level caster in the Multiclass slots table), even though they could only cast 8th-level spells, so that combination would work to achieve the same result without any magic items (just for the sake of demonstrating that it's possible).
Oh okay, that's how I thought the item worked but got confused when you were talking about the 9th level find steed, also I didn't know about that item before now and that makes sense why you could cast it at 9th level
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If you have a Ring of Spell Storing and it has the Find Familiar, does it work? If so and a Warlock does the spell do you get to choose from the extra selections? Another thing I was curious about is if you cast it then unattuned the ring would it stay or just disappear? If it did stay could you still use all the spells features like putting it in a pocket dimension and the connection/spell casting touch spells from it or would you lose those and just have a magic companion that doesn't do anything?
For the Find Steed spell, sorta all the same questions if you cast it from the ring then unattuned to it would it disappear or stay? If it stayed would it still get the Life Bond, Telepathy for 1 mile, or any of its Bonus Actions?
The last part of the ring description is "While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space." so if they did work they wouldn't affect the original casters Familiar or Steed they would be completely the characters own familiar or steed.
Sorry for so many ifs but I am truly curious and I know at the end of the day its what the DM says but I am wondering what others think of this, I have asked a few and they all have different answers to the question. One said yes to it staying in full power and another saying it could turn on you for summoning it, after the unattunement happens.
I am just looking for others input about this so I can better understand the limitations the ring should have naturally compared to what my DM friends would allow. Thanks for any comments or thoughts on this subject.
The RAW (Rules As Written) answers:
Find Familiar:
Find Steed:
General Use:
---
Having toyed with having a wizard who used this trick, I'd like to point out that it's not terribly powerful to deal with. Even the wizard gaining Find Steed and being able to cast it at higher-than-Paladin levels isn't a huge deal; a 9th-level casting is AC 19, 95 HP. At 17th level, that's not a terribly huge deal for a DM to deal with, as that's when you're dealing with world-ending threats.
Okay thanks for your help. I was sorta on the fence about the Find Familiar and the Warlock thing, I had a DM saying he would allow it and others saying no, so felt like I should ask for more feedback and how you explained it makes perfect since. But I do have a follow up question and are you able to upcast the spells in the ring and use your spell slot?? Because I know the normal Ring of Spell Storing can hold up to 5 spell levels of spells, but you are talking about a Wizard up casting it to a 9th level spell with the ring?? or did they just learn the spell and could up cast it if they wanted?
Also I'm not trying for something powerful but it popped into my head and could be used for roll playing purposes or to get us around more quickly since some of our players are using the 2014 species and have a 25ft speed. I am playing a Shadow Monk and if my familiar can see the shadows that are within 60ft of me that I normally couldn't see I could because of a wall or whatever I should still be able to Shadow Step to them but this is only useful outside of combat since Shadow Step and Telepathic Connection are both a Bonus Action.
Thank you again for answering with it all broken down like you did made it easy for me to understand.
You are not able to upcast the spells in the Ring.
However! I mentioned the level the spell is cast into the ring earlier when discussing the impact of the original caster's stats on the Find Steed spell. There's a reason for this:
If a Paladin casts Find Steed into the Ring of Spell Storing at level 4 or higher, it takes up 4 spell levels in the ring until cast, and the Otherworldly Steed has a fly speed when summoned.
As for the wizard, I was using my own character as a reference. The wizard had a Ruby Weave Gem, allowing them to use other classes' spells. But a multiclass Paladin 5 / Sorcerer 15 would have 9th-level spell slots (being an 18th-level caster in the Multiclass slots table), even though they could only cast 8th-level spells, so that combination would work to achieve the same result without any magic items (just for the sake of demonstrating that it's possible).
Oh okay, that's how I thought the item worked but got confused when you were talking about the 9th level find steed, also I didn't know about that item before now and that makes sense why you could cast it at 9th level