If by innate/at-will you mean casting a leveled spell on your turn using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction using traits/features/feats/Magic Items that let characters cast it without using a spell slot, then you're fine, according to the 2024 rule "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn":
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
EDIT: the new rule is not about the type of action used to cast the spell (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction), but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
If by innate/at-will you mean casting a leveled spell on your turn using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction using traits/features/feats/Magic Items that let characters cast it without using a spell slot, then you're fine, according to the 2024 rule "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn":
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can’t, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
By Innate/At-Will I mean the ones that come form backgrounds like Magic Initiate.
So what you are saying here is:
If a player Casts CURE WOUNDS from their Background (without Spell slot) , they can then use a spell slot to cast MASS HEALING WORD - and thats kosher according to 2024 ruleset.
If a player Casts CURE WOUNDS from their Background (without Spell slot) , they can then use a spell slot to cast MASS HEALING WORD - and thats kosher according to 2024 ruleset.
Yep. You can cast as many spells as your action economy will allow you as long as you only expend a max of one spell slot per turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a PC/NPC cast a spell classed as At-Will or Innate as a Bonus Action/Action after having used their Action/bonus Action?
E.g - PC/NPC uses Command (Base Spell) then uses Misty Step (Innate/At Will).
Can this be done in 2024 Rules?
All my details are found on my website
And heres some DM info and reviews
Cuz feedback is important
If by innate/at-will you mean casting a leveled spell on your turn using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction using traits/features/feats/Magic Items that let characters cast it without using a spell slot, then you're fine, according to the 2024 rule "One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn":
EDIT: the new rule is not about the type of action used to cast the spell (regular, Bonus Action, or Reaction), but about the number of spell slots you can expend in a turn: only one.
By Innate/At-Will I mean the ones that come form backgrounds like Magic Initiate.
So what you are saying here is:
If a player Casts CURE WOUNDS from their Background (without Spell slot) , they can then use a spell slot to cast MASS HEALING WORD - and thats kosher according to 2024 ruleset.
All my details are found on my website
And heres some DM info and reviews
Cuz feedback is important
Yep. You can cast as many spells as your action economy will allow you as long as you only expend a max of one spell slot per turn.