I'm looking through the 2024 DMG magic items, and I see the Hag Eye can be crafted by players (or at least Artificers as an infusion). When this is done, can a hag actually see through it? Or does the player see through it, since they were the ones to craft it instead of the hag coven? The text says a coven only ever has one eye at a time, so it doesn't make sense for them to be connected to your crafted eye. But you and even your crafting partner (if used) would be able to see through it using the same logic.
If true, that makes this item even more appealing, since you could hand it to your party members or your Homunculus who gets telepathy with you up to a mile. You'd be able to see through the eye a mile away (or further if it's a party member)... Take that, Find Familiar.
I haven't looked through all the items yet, but this question could apply to any other magic items a player can create that has a function with a creature that normally creates it.
Only a hag coven can craft a Hag Eye and see what the Hag Eye sees. It is usually entrusted to a hag's minion for safekeeping and transpor and use charges as indicated.
Yes, I see the text says that. But the Hag Eye is an Uncommon Wondrous Item, meaning it is a valid option for Artificers to craft with their Replicate Magic Item feature at level 10.
Yes, I see the text says that. But the Hag Eye is an Uncommon Wondrous Item, meaning it is a valid option for Artificers to craft with their Replicate Magic Item feature at level 10.
You've heard of the rule of Specific Beats General, right? One of the core rules dictating how the rules interact during a direct conflict?
General: Artificer can craft Uncommon Wondrous Items.
Specific: "Only a hag coven can craft this item"
No, Artificer can't make it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I'm looking through the 2024 DMG magic items, and I see the Hag Eye can be crafted by players (or at least Artificers as an infusion). When this is done, can a hag actually see through it? Or does the player see through it, since they were the ones to craft it instead of the hag coven? The text says a coven only ever has one eye at a time, so it doesn't make sense for them to be connected to your crafted eye. But you and even your crafting partner (if used) would be able to see through it using the same logic.
If true, that makes this item even more appealing, since you could hand it to your party members or your Homunculus who gets telepathy with you up to a mile. You'd be able to see through the eye a mile away (or further if it's a party member)... Take that, Find Familiar.
I haven't looked through all the items yet, but this question could apply to any other magic items a player can create that has a function with a creature that normally creates it.
Only a hag coven can craft a Hag Eye and see what the Hag Eye sees. It is usually entrusted to a hag's minion for safekeeping and transpor and use charges as indicated.
Yes, I see the text says that. But the Hag Eye is an Uncommon Wondrous Item, meaning it is a valid option for Artificers to craft with their Replicate Magic Item feature at level 10.
You've heard of the rule of Specific Beats General, right? One of the core rules dictating how the rules interact during a direct conflict?
General: Artificer can craft Uncommon Wondrous Items.
Specific: "Only a hag coven can craft this item"
No, Artificer can't make it.