Lv15 feature Fortified Position let Artificers make a 2nd Cannon, while also giving everyone 10ft. around the Cannons Half Cover. That makes me wonder if I can put my 2nd Cannon onto one of my allies so that I can have better coverage on the +2 AC and DEX saves. RAW said only I can carry the Cannons with me but that seems illogical and kinda goes against the spirit of the class.
"....you can take a Magic action to create a Small or Tiny Eldritch Cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of yourself. You determine its appearance, including whether you carry it or not (and your choice of legs or wheels, for the latter)."
Anyone can carry it. For that matter, it could be "mounted" on someone (you determine its appearance; maybe it's shaped like a shoulder-mounted thing).
Lv15 feature Fortified Position let Artificers make a 2nd Cannon, while also giving everyone 10ft. around the Cannons Half Cover. That makes me wonder if I can put my 2nd Cannon onto one of my allies so that I can have better coverage on the +2 AC and DEX saves. RAW said only I can carry the Cannons with me but that seems illogical and kinda goes against the spirit of the class.
"....you can take a Magic action to create a Small or Tiny Eldritch Cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of yourself. You determine its appearance, including whether you carry it or not (and your choice of legs or wheels, for the latter)."
I doubt that the phrase "whether you carry it" was intended to limit it to only being carried by you. I don't see any real reason someone else couldn't carry it.
That said, you still need to be within 60 feet of the cannon to activate it, so it won't be useful if the other person gets too far away from you.
I thought so too but one of my DMs is a stickler for RAW so I was limited to myself. I hope WotC will release an errata that'll give it a more defined description, that or I can get enough opinions to chime in so I can convince him otherwise XD
The use of 'you' is ambiguous there. It's frequently used as a generic pronoun. If I say 'It's a portable speaker system that you can carry', i don't specifically that the person I'm talking to can carry it. I mean anyone can carry it. And that's how I would read that sentence, as a generic 'you'.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Lv15 feature Fortified Position let Artificers make a 2nd Cannon, while also giving everyone 10ft. around the Cannons Half Cover. That makes me wonder if I can put my 2nd Cannon onto one of my allies so that I can have better coverage on the +2 AC and DEX saves. RAW said only I can carry the Cannons with me but that seems illogical and kinda goes against the spirit of the class.
"....you can take a Magic action to create a Small or Tiny Eldritch Cannon in an unoccupied space on a horizontal surface within 5 feet of yourself. You determine its appearance, including whether you carry it or not (and your choice of legs or wheels, for the latter)."
Anyone can carry it. For that matter, it could be "mounted" on someone (you determine its appearance; maybe it's shaped like a shoulder-mounted thing).
I doubt that the phrase "whether you carry it" was intended to limit it to only being carried by you. I don't see any real reason someone else couldn't carry it.
That said, you still need to be within 60 feet of the cannon to activate it, so it won't be useful if the other person gets too far away from you.
pronouns: he/she/they
I thought so too but one of my DMs is a stickler for RAW so I was limited to myself. I hope WotC will release an errata that'll give it a more defined description, that or I can get enough opinions to chime in so I can convince him otherwise XD
The use of 'you' is ambiguous there. It's frequently used as a generic pronoun. If I say 'It's a portable speaker system that you can carry', i don't specifically that the person I'm talking to can carry it. I mean anyone can carry it. And that's how I would read that sentence, as a generic 'you'.