If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells. The reason why you have the 3rd spot is because of multiclass. The only thing that the 3rd level spell slot is good for is upcasting a 1st or 2nd level spell. so as far as daylight scroll, you would have to make the check. Or wait to level up, to be able to cast 3rd level spells from either class.
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
I don't think there's a solid RAW answer to this, since the item's description doesn't seem to take multiclassing into account at all (it just says "on your spell list", which is not super helpful). It seems like the intent would be for it to require an ability check, since you can't cast a 3rd-level spell from the list of the class that the scroll's spell is on, but who knows.
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells.
No, they're not. In the example given, the character has five levels of Warlock, which allows them to cast 3rd-level Warlock spells. The question is whether that allows them to use a spell scroll with a 3rd-level spell that's not on the Warlock list, but is on the class list for another class they have (Ranger in this case) that they can't yet cast 3rd-level spells from.
Yeah, I think it's pretty clear that RAI is I have to make a check, and my DM plays by RAI unless there's an overruling RAW/Sage Advice call. I was mostly fishing for something that would save me from making a somewhat risky check.
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells.
No, they're not. In the example given, the character has five levels of Warlock, which allows them to cast 3rd-level Warlock spells. The question is whether that allows them to use a spell scroll with a 3rd-level spell that's not on the Warlock list, but is on the class list for another class they have (Ranger in this case) that they can't yet cast 3rd-level spells from.
I understand your position, but still, in the example, the character cannot normally cast Daylight unless they are a Celestial Patron Warlock. The description is a catch 22. It's simple and accurate for most characters. It is muddy for multiclass characters. They could be more explicit about the character needing to be able to prepare it or to be able to cast that specific spell, but that then leads to confusion based on how different characters can cast and prepare spells. I think it is clear enough that you check for each class to see if it is on its spell list and whether you can cast spells of that level for that class. The Ranger cannot cast 3rd level spells; they can cast 1st and 2nd level spells with 3rd level slots, which is not the same thing.
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells.
No, they're not. In the example given, the character has five levels of Warlock, which allows them to cast 3rd-level Warlock spells. The question is whether that allows them to use a spell scroll with a 3rd-level spell that's not on the Warlock list, but is on the class list for another class they have (Ranger in this case) that they can't yet cast 3rd-level spells from.
I understand your position, but still, in the example, the character cannot normally cast Daylight unless they are a Celestial Patron Warlock. The description is a catch 22. It's simple and accurate for most characters. It is muddy for multiclass characters. They could be more explicit about the character needing to be able to prepare it or to be able to cast that specific spell, but that then leads to confusion based on how different characters can cast and prepare spells. I think it is clear enough that you check for each class to see if it is on its spell list and whether you can cast spells of that level for that class. The Ranger cannot cast 3rd level spells; they can cast 1st and 2nd level spells with 3rd level slots, which is not the same thing.
As I said above, my position is that the RAW is unclear and the RAI is that you have to make the ability check in this case.
If I was a level 13 rouge/thief subclass, I can read scrolls. As i would not have the ability to do a 3rd level spell, I would just do this correct: Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level).
If I roll my Arcana DC of 13, I can be successful, or am I missing something? If I fail, can I try to use the scroll later?
If I was a level 13 rouge/thief subclass, I can read scrolls. As i would not have the ability to do a 3rd level spell, I would just do this correct: Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level).
If I roll my Arcana DC of 13, I can be successful, or am I missing something? If I fail, can I try to use the scroll later?
That’s correct. However, both the Thief feature and the spell scroll’s description say that if you fail the check, the scroll is destroyed, so you can’t try it again.
If I was a level 13 rouge/thief subclass, I can read scrolls. As i would not have the ability to do a 3rd level spell, I would just do this correct: Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level).
If I roll my Arcana DC of 13, I can be successful, or am I missing something? If I fail, can I try to use the scroll later?
According to the rules, you can make the check, but:
If the scroll contains a higher-level spell, you must first succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level). On a successful check, you cast the spell from the scroll. On a failed check, the scroll disintegrates.
EDIT: ninja'd by wagnarokkr! EDIT2: and sorry Character77006 because I didn't see your post #9 before writing mine :(
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepareDaylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells.
No, they're not. In the example given, the character has five levels of Warlock, which allows them to cast 3rd-level Warlock spells. The question is whether that allows them to use a spell scroll with a 3rd-level spell that's not on the Warlock list, but is on the class list for another class they have (Ranger in this case) that they can't yet cast 3rd-level spells from.
I understand your position, but still, in the example, the character cannot normally cast Daylight unless they are a Celestial Patron Warlock. The description is a catch 22. It's simple and accurate for most characters. It is muddy for multiclass characters. They could be more explicit about the character needing to be able to prepare it or to be able to cast that specific spell, but that then leads to confusion based on how different characters can cast and prepare spells. I think it is clear enough that you check for each class to see if it is on its spell list and whether you can cast spells of that level for that class. The Ranger cannot cast 3rd level spells; they can cast 1st and 2nd level spells with 3rd level slots, which is not the same thing.
As I said above, my position is that the RAW is unclear and the RAI is that you have to make the ability check in this case.
And I was stating why I think RAW is as clear as is reasonable. I responded to the breakdown of the class just because I thought that illustrated your reasoning more clearly. I don't think we disagree on RAI. :)
Hey all,
If I am a multiclass character (e.g. a Ranger 3/Warlock 5) and have a Spell Scroll of Daylight, can I cast it without a check? The description says you must make an ability check if the spell is "of a higher level than you can normally cast." As a 3rd-level Ranger, I can't cast 3rd-level Ranger spells, but I can cast 3rd-level spells. I recognize that I couldn't prepare Daylight, but could I cast it safely from a scroll? Looking for a RAW ruling here.
Thanks!
You’re confusing spell slots (3rd level) with the ability to cast 3rd level spells. The reason why you have the 3rd spot is because of multiclass. The only thing that the 3rd level spell slot is good for is upcasting a 1st or 2nd level spell.
so as far as daylight scroll, you would have to make the check. Or wait to level up, to be able to cast 3rd level spells from either class.
I don't think there's a solid RAW answer to this, since the item's description doesn't seem to take multiclassing into account at all (it just says "on your spell list", which is not super helpful). It seems like the intent would be for it to require an ability check, since you can't cast a 3rd-level spell from the list of the class that the scroll's spell is on, but who knows.
pronouns: he/she/they
No, they're not. In the example given, the character has five levels of Warlock, which allows them to cast 3rd-level Warlock spells. The question is whether that allows them to use a spell scroll with a 3rd-level spell that's not on the Warlock list, but is on the class list for another class they have (Ranger in this case) that they can't yet cast 3rd-level spells from.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yeah, I think it's pretty clear that RAI is I have to make a check, and my DM plays by RAI unless there's an overruling RAW/Sage Advice call. I was mostly fishing for something that would save me from making a somewhat risky check.
I understand your position, but still, in the example, the character cannot normally cast Daylight unless they are a Celestial Patron Warlock. The description is a catch 22. It's simple and accurate for most characters. It is muddy for multiclass characters. They could be more explicit about the character needing to be able to prepare it or to be able to cast that specific spell, but that then leads to confusion based on how different characters can cast and prepare spells. I think it is clear enough that you check for each class to see if it is on its spell list and whether you can cast spells of that level for that class. The Ranger cannot cast 3rd level spells; they can cast 1st and 2nd level spells with 3rd level slots, which is not the same thing.
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
As I said above, my position is that the RAW is unclear and the RAI is that you have to make the ability check in this case.
pronouns: he/she/they
Scroll question, but different from above.
If I was a level 13 rouge/thief subclass, I can read scrolls. As i would not have the ability to do a 3rd level spell, I would just do this correct: Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 plus the spell’s level).
If I roll my Arcana DC of 13, I can be successful, or am I missing something? If I fail, can I try to use the scroll later?
Assuming that the character is not a Celestial Warlock, this is my understanding.
The spell:
- It is on your spell list (as a Ranger), so you can read the scroll and cast the spell without a Material component.
- It is of a higher level than you can normally cast, because you cannot normally cast it as a Ranger or as a Warlock in this scenario.
What about as a 13th level thief?
That’s correct. However, both the Thief feature and the spell scroll’s description say that if you fail the check, the scroll is destroyed, so you can’t try it again.
pronouns: he/she/they
According to the rules, you can make the check, but:
EDIT: ninja'd by wagnarokkr!
EDIT2: and sorry Character77006 because I didn't see your post #9 before writing mine :(
And I was stating why I think RAW is as clear as is reasonable. I responded to the breakdown of the class just because I thought that illustrated your reasoning more clearly. I don't think we disagree on RAI. :)
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.