also the potion of giant strength (storm kings thunder) makes you huge and triples your weapon size so surely that would enable you to weild giant weapons
there is an image in storm kings thunder( a book all about giants) which shows a size comparison between duke zalto(fire giant) and a party of adventurers and he is only like 2/3 times larger than them his maul is huge but a character could weild it if they were a large race e.g minotaur/goliath
also the potion of giant strength (storm kings thunder) makes you huge and triples your weapon size so surely that would enable you to weild giant weapons
there is an image in storm kings thunder( a book all about giants) which shows a size comparison between duke zalto(fire giant) and a party of adventurers and he is only like 2/3 times larger than them his maul is huge but a character could weild it if they were a large race e.g minotaur/goliath
I'd definitely rule that, using that potion, you're eligible to use weapons sized for a giant that you pick up during its active duration, but they don't get enhanced further than what it says; instead, a weapon already sized that way, wielded by someone who drank that potion, innately has the same benefits the potion would grant to an enlarged weapon.
In the DMG under the "create a monster stat block" it lists larger monsters as being able to weild oversized weapons.
"Big monsters typically wield oversized weapons that deal extra dice of damage on a hit. Double the weapon dice if the creature is Large, triple the weapon dice if it’s Huge, and quadruple the weapon dice if it’s Gargantuan. For example, a Huge giant wielding an appropriately sized greataxe deals 3d12 slashing damage (plus its Strength bonus), instead of the normal 1d12."
It continues to read
"A creature has disadvantage on attack rolls with a weapon that is sized for a larger attacker. You can rule that a weapon sized for an attacker two or more sizes larger is too big for the creature to use at all."
By this reasoning, would a player character with the Powerful Build racial trait, "You count as one size larger when determining your carrying capacity and the weight you can push, drag, or lift" be able to wield a weapon proportianal to a creature of a size category larger than itself without the disadvantage normally caused by wielding an oversized weapon?
No, the rule says the creature has to be that size, not count as being that size. Otherwise it's disadvantage or worse can't wield as a weapon at all.
If Powerful Build was intended to let PCs wield oversized weapons, it would say so in the description of the ability.
For my part, I had not even cited Powerful Build, merely pointed out that Goliaths can be 8' tall. They are literally larger than humans, not merely more efficient at lifting and carrying.
If Powerful Build was intended to let PCs wield oversized weapons, it would say so in the description of the ability.
For my part, I had not even cited Powerful Build, merely pointed out that Goliaths can be 8' tall. They are literally larger than humans, not merely more efficient at lifting and carrying.
Which does not actually matter because height doesn't have any actual impact on the game rules.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
If Powerful Build was intended to let PCs wield oversized weapons, it would say so in the description of the ability.
For my part, I had not even cited Powerful Build, merely pointed out that Goliaths can be 8' tall. They are literally larger than humans, not merely more efficient at lifting and carrying.
Which does not actually matter because height doesn't have any actual impact on the game rules.
Is there any actual rule saying a PC cannot wield an oversized weapon? There is no rule saying how much any such weapon would sell for, either, Or weigh. Or that they can be removed from the bodies of the creatures wielding them. There are a lot of things not explicitly stated in the rules.
It is fair to say that there is no specific rule allowing it, but there is not really any specific rule covering it either way, other than that powerful frame, in and of itself, specifically does not allow it (which is not the same as prohibiting it).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
also the potion of giant strength (storm kings thunder) makes you huge and triples your weapon size so surely that would enable you to weild giant weapons
there is an image in storm kings thunder( a book all about giants) which shows a size comparison between duke zalto(fire giant) and a party of adventurers and he is only like 2/3 times larger than them his maul is huge but a character could weild it if they were a large race e.g minotaur/goliath
You mean the Potion of Giant Size?
I'd definitely rule that, using that potion, you're eligible to use weapons sized for a giant that you pick up during its active duration, but they don't get enhanced further than what it says; instead, a weapon already sized that way, wielded by someone who drank that potion, innately has the same benefits the potion would grant to an enlarged weapon.
since the potion of giant size lets you use your own weapons this way I don't see why they couldn't also use a giant's.
@tigero
@Athan90
i AGREE
No, the rule says the creature has to be that size, not count as being that size. Otherwise it's disadvantage or worse can't wield as a weapon at all.
If Powerful Build was intended to let PCs wield oversized weapons, it would say so in the description of the ability.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
For my part, I had not even cited Powerful Build, merely pointed out that Goliaths can be 8' tall. They are literally larger than humans, not merely more efficient at lifting and carrying.
Which does not actually matter because height doesn't have any actual impact on the game rules.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Is there any actual rule saying a PC cannot wield an oversized weapon? There is no rule saying how much any such weapon would sell for, either, Or weigh. Or that they can be removed from the bodies of the creatures wielding them. There are a lot of things not explicitly stated in the rules.
It is fair to say that there is no specific rule allowing it, but there is not really any specific rule covering it either way, other than that powerful frame, in and of itself, specifically does not allow it (which is not the same as prohibiting it).