Does casting a spell using a charge from a magic staff expend a spell slot? Example from a staff of defense (from Lost Mine of Phandelver):
"The staff has 10 charges, which are used to fuel the spells within it. With the staff in hand, you can use your action to cast one of the following spells from the staff if the spell is on your class's spell list: mage armor (1 charge) or shield (2 charges). No components are required."
Ordinarily, a spell slot is used anytime a spell is cast and this description does not say that general rule does not apply. It seems that the benefits of the magic staff, then, are (1) its an arcane focus, (2) when casting one of the listed spells, no components are required, and (3) the spellcaster doesn't have to learn or prepare either of the listed spells--they are simply always available. (Of course, since the staff is an arcane focus, no material components would be needed to cast those spells anyway, so the second benefit really is only that no vocal or somatic components are required.)
So, if a character holding a staff of defense casts mage armor, that character expends a spell slot. Is my interpretation correct?
No, it does not use a spell slot. Because you are using a magic item's effects, not casting a spell using your own trained/innate power.
If a magic item wants you to expend a spell slot, it would specifically say "You may expend a spell slot to..."
The Staff of Defense is a little odd because of the extra text about it needing to be on your class' spell list, but that's a balancing effect to limit who can use the staff. But the point of the magic item is the ability to defend yourself without using your own spell slots for it.
I agree with MellieDM. You cast the spells from the staff just like, for example, the Wand of Magic Missiles and many other magic items that duplicate spells. You expend charges from the staff, not the character's spell slots.
Yes, you are both correct. Here is the official answer, from the Dungeon Master's Guide, p. 141:
"Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise."
Thank you both.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does casting a spell using a charge from a magic staff expend a spell slot? Example from a staff of defense (from Lost Mine of Phandelver):
"The staff has 10 charges, which are used to fuel the spells within it. With the staff in hand, you can use your action to cast one of the following spells from the staff if the spell is on your class's spell list: mage armor (1 charge) or shield (2 charges). No components are required."
Ordinarily, a spell slot is used anytime a spell is cast and this description does not say that general rule does not apply. It seems that the benefits of the magic staff, then, are (1) its an arcane focus, (2) when casting one of the listed spells, no components are required, and (3) the spellcaster doesn't have to learn or prepare either of the listed spells--they are simply always available. (Of course, since the staff is an arcane focus, no material components would be needed to cast those spells anyway, so the second benefit really is only that no vocal or somatic components are required.)
So, if a character holding a staff of defense casts mage armor, that character expends a spell slot. Is my interpretation correct?
No, it does not use a spell slot. Because you are using a magic item's effects, not casting a spell using your own trained/innate power.
If a magic item wants you to expend a spell slot, it would specifically say "You may expend a spell slot to..."
The Staff of Defense is a little odd because of the extra text about it needing to be on your class' spell list, but that's a balancing effect to limit who can use the staff. But the point of the magic item is the ability to defend yourself without using your own spell slots for it.
I agree with MellieDM. You cast the spells from the staff just like, for example, the Wand of Magic Missiles and many other magic items that duplicate spells. You expend charges from the staff, not the character's spell slots.
Recently returned to D&D after 20+ years.
Unapologetic.
Yes, you are both correct. Here is the official answer, from the Dungeon Master's Guide, p. 141:
"Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise."
Thank you both.