If I use a bonus action to cast, say, Shielf of Faith, in subsequent turns, do I continue to consume a bonus action for those turns because of the concentration required, or am I able to use a different bonus action, such as an attack that uses a bonus action if I am a war priest cleric? This would seem a bit overpowered, imo, having the ability to grant yourself +2 AC, attack with a weapon as a bonus action, and cast a spell such as cure wounds as a normal action. But if legal, I can't wait to use it.
This would seem a bit overpowered, imo, having the ability to grant yourself +2 AC, attack with a weapon as a bonus action, and cast a spell such as cure wounds as a normal action. But if legal, I can't wait to use it.
That would be overpowered. Good thing it's not possible! Let's break it down:
In a round of combat, each character/creature has one (1) Action, one (1) Movement, one (1) Bonus Action, and one (1) Reaction. None of these types of actions can be substituted for another.
Things you can choose from to use your one (1) Action on your turn (in spoiler):
"Attack" & "Cast a Spell" are mutually exclusive for all spells with a casting time of "1 Action", so right from the jump you cannot take the Attackaction (regular weapon attack) and the Cast a spell(Cure Wounds) in the same turn. You can do one or the other.
Bonus Actions are not "free" actions. You have one (1) per round, and that's it. Features that let you make attacks, move, cast spells with a casting time of 1 Bonus Action, etc. are options for how to spend your one (1) Bonus Action per round.
You're a War Domain Cleric, so let's start with the War Priest feature you get at level 1. First off, this does not just give you the ability to make a weapon attack using a Bonus Action whenever you want. There are rules for its use (which I'm not insinuating that you do not understand; just being thorough), and the key one is that you must take the Attack Action before you are eligible to use your Bonus Action (in this way) to make one (1) additional attack. This feature also has a maximum number of times it can be used per Long Rest. That would be your Action and your Bonus Action for the round.
Shield of Faith is a spell with a casting time of one (1) Bonus Action. You can cast this with your Bonus Action on your turn without needing to do anything "first", but Bonus Action spells have their own rules:
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
You could cast Shield of Faith as a Bonus Action & take the Attack Action for a single weapon attack (you do not get to make an additional attack via War Priest because you have already used your Bonus Action), you could cast Shield of Faith as a Bonus Action & cast a cantrip as your Action (cough... Sacred Flame cough...), or you could cast Cure Wounds as an Action & use your bonus action on something else
At level 1, you may not have any other way to use a Bonus Action yet, so you may just have to end your turn without using a Bonus Action if you're casting Cure Wounds. That's fine; the game is balanced with that assumption already in mind. By 3rd level, you'll have plenty of options available to you.