I was playing a game yesterday and wanted to use my rogue character's cunning Action to dash to a safe distance from a monster, then shoot my long now. The DM said the dash Was my action. Aka, end of turn. Was he right?
Assuming that you're not leaving any details out, you should have been fine. You can use your bonus action to dash, and your action to attack fairly.
Perhaps you can politely ask your DM to review the rules for Cunning Action prior to your next game?
Starting at 2nd level, your quick thinking and agility allow you to move and act quickly. You can take a bonus action on each of your turns in combat. This action can be used only to take the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action.
He's a stickler for "saying what you do before you do it." I said "I'm going to dash over there" then "Now I'm going to attack." I guess he wanted me to say "I'm taking my cunning action to dash over there" and then attack.
I'm runningwith "the DM is always right" way of thinking, so, guess I just need to verbalise better.
Big thank you for clearing up exactly how much movement I get - the 30 + 30 example. That has just added some serious tactical enhancements in my mind! Just hope the DM is cool with it!!
He's a stickler for "saying what you do before you do it." I said "I'm going to dash over there" then "Now I'm going to attack." I guess he wanted me to say "I'm taking my cunning action to dash over there" and then attack.
I'm runningwith "the DM is always right" way of thinking, so, guess I just need to verbalise better.
Big thank you for clearing up exactly how much movement I get - the 30 + 30 example. That has just added some serious tactical enhancements in my mind! Just hope the DM is cool with it!!
I get a DM wanting to make sure players are clear about what they're doing, but dang that seems awfully persnickety of them.
Big thank you for clearing up exactly how much movement I get - the 30 + 30 example. That has just added some serious tactical enhancements in my mind! Just hope the DM is cool with it!!
Rogues can dash with bonus action (cunning action) and action plus make their normal movement to move triple their movement speed (with haste, octuple (×8)).
I was playing a game yesterday and wanted to use my rogue character's cunning Action to dash to a safe distance from a monster, then shoot my long now. The DM said the dash Was my action. Aka, end of turn. Was he right?
Assuming that you're not leaving any details out, you should have been fine. You can use your bonus action to dash, and your action to attack fairly.
Perhaps you can politely ask your DM to review the rules for Cunning Action prior to your next game?
You should have been able to move 60' (assuming a 30' movement) and attack:
Movement: 30'
Bonus Action: Cunning Action Dash 30'
Action: Attack
Your DM may not have been aware of cunning action.
He's a stickler for "saying what you do before you do it." I said "I'm going to dash over there" then "Now I'm going to attack." I guess he wanted me to say "I'm taking my cunning action to dash over there" and then attack.
I'm runningwith "the DM is always right" way of thinking, so, guess I just need to verbalise better.
Big thank you for clearing up exactly how much movement I get - the 30 + 30 example. That has just added some serious tactical enhancements in my mind! Just hope the DM is cool with it!!
If he isn’t, switch to another class because he’s seriously nerfing a rogue’s abilities if he’s not.
Professional computer geek
I get a DM wanting to make sure players are clear about what they're doing, but dang that seems awfully persnickety of them.
Rogues can dash with bonus action (cunning action) and action plus make their normal movement to move triple their movement speed (with haste, octuple (×8)).