Quick question, I have a gnome fighter that I want to use a lance with. Thinking Sir Didymus from Labyrinth. DM says a gnome can't use a lance because it's like 2-3x my size. I said he's size-ist and a gnome can use them.
Just trying to settle a disagreement. Thank you for your help
A Lance is not labeled as a Heavy weapon, so by that a small creature would be able to use it with no penalty. (Of course, the DM can always overrule that if they so choose, like with any rules.)
There are no rules against it. A light lance is only 6 feet long and doesn't have more size disparity than a heavy lance does for a normal human which can exceed 12 feet long.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi All,
Quick question, I have a gnome fighter that I want to use a lance with. Thinking Sir Didymus from Labyrinth. DM says a gnome can't use a lance because it's like 2-3x my size. I said he's size-ist and a gnome can use them.
Just trying to settle a disagreement. Thank you for your help
By the rules, the restriction is that Small creatures get disadvantage when using Heavy weapons. https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/equipment#WeaponProperties
A Lance is not labeled as a Heavy weapon, so by that a small creature would be able to use it with no penalty. (Of course, the DM can always overrule that if they so choose, like with any rules.)
There are no rules against it. A light lance is only 6 feet long and doesn't have more size disparity than a heavy lance does for a normal human which can exceed 12 feet long.