I have looked all over the place for this. I couldn't find any real solid answers, so I am asking.
I have a Tempest Cleric, my DM allowed me to take Booming Blade instead of Sacred Flame due to the theme.
I know the rule with casting 2 spells in a round of combat is. If you cast a spell 1st level or higher that has the casting time of a bonus action, you can cast a cantrip as well as long as it is an action. So my question is, If i were to cast Spiritual weapon which is a bonus action. Could I then use my cantrip to cast Booming Blade, which is an action.
So When I cast Sacred weapon it makes one melee spell attack against my target. Then if I am able to cast booming blade and make a second melee spell attack against my target. That is 2 attacks per round. Then every other round in combat I should be able to use my bonus action to keep swinging with SW and then use my Spell attack to cast BB right?
"A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
So yes, if you use your Bonus Action to cast Spiritual Weapon, you can then cast Booming Blade with your Action. On subsequent turns, you aren't casting a spell with your Bonus Action, you're simply using it to make the Spiritual Weapon attack, so the "two spells" rule doesn't apply. You could cast Booming Blade, or something higher-level like Spirit Guardians or even Flame Strike.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I have looked all over the place for this. I couldn't find any real solid answers, so I am asking.
I have a Tempest Cleric, my DM allowed me to take Booming Blade instead of Sacred Flame due to the theme.
I know the rule with casting 2 spells in a round of combat is. If you cast a spell 1st level or higher that has the casting time of a bonus action, you can cast a cantrip as well as long as it is an action. So my question is, If i were to cast Spiritual weapon which is a bonus action. Could I then use my cantrip to cast Booming Blade, which is an action.
So When I cast Sacred weapon it makes one melee spell attack against my target. Then if I am able to cast booming blade and make a second melee spell attack against my target. That is 2 attacks per round. Then every other round in combat I should be able to use my bonus action to keep swinging with SW and then use my Spell attack to cast BB right?
"A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."
So yes, if you use your Bonus Action to cast Spiritual Weapon, you can then cast Booming Blade with your Action. On subsequent turns, you aren't casting a spell with your Bonus Action, you're simply using it to make the Spiritual Weapon attack, so the "two spells" rule doesn't apply. You could cast Booming Blade, or something higher-level like Spirit Guardians or even Flame Strike.
Thank you for your response. We just turned level 3, running ToA. When we hit level 5 it will be SG all day haha.
Spirit Guardians, Spiritual Weapon, and Booming Blade with a Warhammer are my bread & butter. You've got the right idea.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.