Hey all!!! I'm looking at making an Artificer, and I'm having trouble finding an answer to my question. The text reads:
"You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time."
I wanted to make a Battle Smith dual wielding hand crossbows that are infused with the Repeating Shot infusion. The italicized text above makes me believe this is not possible since my infusions can only be on one object at a time? Is this correct?
Additionally, does replicating a magical item take one of my infusions away? Meaning, at lvl 3, can I not create a bag of holding, and then infuse my weapon and armor? Am I only allowed to do two of those?
An artificer cannot use the same infusion on two objects.
The artificer also has a maximum number of items they can have infused at any one time (shown in the Artificer table), so at level 3 an artificer has 4 infusions known, but can only have 2 infused items.
i was the same when i first looked at artificer, one of my many backup characters, "cool, i will do this, that and the next thing. oh wait, rereading it means i can only do this and that."
i believe some of my plans will work at later levels, but a couple of them are just not possible with RAW.
@Lottius, I had that same kind of misunderstanding. It's a fairly common question with Artificers. Just a point of order, that I ran into: having a bag of holding at level 1 is awesome. But you have to keep it a bag of holding, or figure out a way to carry everything without it. I was a gnome with 8 strength. I was basically limited to 1 infusion per day until recently when I made a permanent bag of holding. Just something to think about. might not apply to you. I'm loving my artificer, and I hope you do too!
Hey all!!! I'm looking at making an Artificer, and I'm having trouble finding an answer to my question. The text reads:
"You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time."
I wanted to make a Battle Smith dual wielding hand crossbows that are infused with the Repeating Shot infusion. The italicized text above makes me believe this is not possible since my infusions can only be on one object at a time? Is this correct?
Additionally, does replicating a magical item take one of my infusions away? Meaning, at lvl 3, can I not create a bag of holding, and then infuse my weapon and armor? Am I only allowed to do two of those?
Thanks!
Hi there,
you are correct!
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
You have correctly comprehended the rules as written (but are still trying to find a way around them...).
Nope. Just had the character all planned out in my mind, then realized I read it wrong.
i was the same when i first looked at artificer, one of my many backup characters, "cool, i will do this, that and the next thing. oh wait, rereading it means i can only do this and that."
i believe some of my plans will work at later levels, but a couple of them are just not possible with RAW.
@Lottius, I had that same kind of misunderstanding. It's a fairly common question with Artificers. Just a point of order, that I ran into: having a bag of holding at level 1 is awesome. But you have to keep it a bag of holding, or figure out a way to carry everything without it. I was a gnome with 8 strength. I was basically limited to 1 infusion per day until recently when I made a permanent bag of holding. Just something to think about. might not apply to you. I'm loving my artificer, and I hope you do too!
I think the only infusion you can learn multiple times is "replicate magic item", so no luck on two repeating crossbows.