The Arcane Archer's Arcane Shot is its primary class feature. However, it specifies that you must use a magic arrow in order to use the power. Since you don't get the ability to turn arrows magical at will until 7th level, does this mean that barring either generosity from the GM or a party member who's willing to devote spell slots to casting Magic Weapon or similar effects, you actually can't use Arcane Shot from 3rd-6th level?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I don't see anywhere in the description for Arcane Shot that the arrow needs to already be magical. You are able to apply 1 of your chosen Shots to one of your attacks, once per turn, 2 uses per rest. You make the decision of whether to apply or not after the arrow successfully hits a target.
The Arcane Archer's Arcane Shot is its primary class feature. However, it specifies that you must use a magic arrow in order to use the power. Since you don't get the ability to turn arrows magical at will until 7th level, does this mean that barring either generosity from the GM or a party member who's willing to devote spell slots to casting Magic Weapon or similar effects, you actually can't use Arcane Shot from 3rd-6th level?
I believe this has been recently errata'd to not require a magical arrow. DDBeyond has already incorporated the language change, so that's why some people might not see it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Canto alla vita alla sua bellezza ad ogni sua ferita ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
The Arcane Archer's Arcane Shot is its primary class feature. However, it specifies that you must use a magic arrow in order to use the power. Since you don't get the ability to turn arrows magical at will until 7th level, does this mean that barring either generosity from the GM or a party member who's willing to devote spell slots to casting Magic Weapon or similar effects, you actually can't use Arcane Shot from 3rd-6th level?
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I don't see anywhere in the description for Arcane Shot that the arrow needs to already be magical. You are able to apply 1 of your chosen Shots to one of your attacks, once per turn, 2 uses per rest. You make the decision of whether to apply or not after the arrow successfully hits a target.
I believe this has been recently errata'd to not require a magical arrow. DDBeyond has already incorporated the language change, so that's why some people might not see it.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/11/07/arcane-archer-the-arcane-shot-feature-is-not-intended-to-require-a-magic-arrow-errata/
https://www.belloflostsouls.net/2020/04/dd-breaking-new-errata-fixes-healing-spirit-arcane-archer.html
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Well, that saves the class from being completely useless.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.