I'm relatively new to D&D and DnD Beyond. I have a question about the mechanics of some spells. In DnD Beyond, in my character sheet, it lists "Guiding Bolt" as an Action (in addition to listing it in the Spells tab). A friend of mine who plays a warlock also has "Scorching Ray" in his actions, as well as his spells.
Does this mean that these spells can be used again and again, like cantrips, without need to monitor spell slots? Or are they spells, like any other, and spell slots need to be ticked off when they are used?
You can only take the action to cast a spell if you have the spell slots available for it. I believe that the sheet adds attack spells to the actions tab so you can see them, it doesn't mean that you can cast them without the spell slot.
Both technically. [Tooltip Not Found] is an action. But you must follow all the rules of spellcasting which means using slots to cast spells (unless given a different way to cast it). You may also notice that you have weapons listed in attack actions as well as being in your equipment, this is the same.
These spells are being displayed as attacks (because they make spell attacks), not being made a unique action that doesn't follow spellcasting rules. Even on DDB if you click the spell in your actions, it will show you the cost to cast it. By clicking customize, you can remove it from list of attacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all,
I'm relatively new to D&D and DnD Beyond. I have a question about the mechanics of some spells. In DnD Beyond, in my character sheet, it lists "Guiding Bolt" as an Action (in addition to listing it in the Spells tab). A friend of mine who plays a warlock also has "Scorching Ray" in his actions, as well as his spells.
Does this mean that these spells can be used again and again, like cantrips, without need to monitor spell slots? Or are they spells, like any other, and spell slots need to be ticked off when they are used?
Thank you!
You can only take the action to cast a spell if you have the spell slots available for it. I believe that the sheet adds attack spells to the actions tab so you can see them, it doesn't mean that you can cast them without the spell slot.
Both technically. [Tooltip Not Found] is an action. But you must follow all the rules of spellcasting which means using slots to cast spells (unless given a different way to cast it). You may also notice that you have weapons listed in attack actions as well as being in your equipment, this is the same.
These spells are being displayed as attacks (because they make spell attacks), not being made a unique action that doesn't follow spellcasting rules. Even on DDB if you click the spell in your actions, it will show you the cost to cast it. By clicking customize, you can remove it from list of attacks.