You can cast any spell (including rituals) into the ring as long as the total number of levels of spells doesn't exceed 5.
When putting a spell into the ring, you cast it normally except on completion nothing happens. This would include casting a ritual.
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring
While attuned to the ring, the wearer can cast the spell with the following caveats:
The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster
Otherwise the spell is cast normally:
but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell
Meaning the casting time is unaffected.
tl;dr - a ritual spell takes ritual time to be cast into and out of the ring.
It is a DM call and RAW, I would tend to say that no, you can't cast a ritual into a ring of spell storing.
From DMG: Ring of Spell Storing
"The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses."
"The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster,"
PHB: Rituals
"The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot,"
Since rituals do not use spell slots while the ring requires the spell slot level to determine the storage capacity and casting level in the ring then a DM could just as easily conclude that you can't cast spells using a ritual into a ring of spell storing because they don't use spell slots.
The bottom line in either case is to ask your DM what they would allow.
Despite that technicality in the rules, I would let a ritual be cast into the ring as if it used a spell slot. With a 10 minute casting time it isn’t over powering so I would let it work.
I disagree. Ritual spell casting doesn't expend a spell slot, but it still has a spell slot. Every spell has a well-defined spell level for which it would consume a slot if it's not cast ritually.
I disagree. Ritual spell casting doesn't expend a spell slot, but it still has a spell slot. Every spell has a well-defined spell level for which it would consume a slot if it's not cast ritually.
I would rule as this indicates. A caster can cast a spell with the ritual tag, as a ritual (thus not burning their spell slot) and the spell is stored at it's base level. The wearer of the ring would cast it as a normal casting time (non-ritual) because it's being spent from the ring. The OP question may have been wondering if say, Tiny Hut was cast on the ring, would it have an endless supply of that spell, because rituals don't use a spell slot, so maybe they wouldn't remove the spell from the ring?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
Spells do NOT have spell slots. Spell slots are used to cast. The spell has a spell level, not a spell slot. Spell levels are the minimum spell slot you can use to cast it.
Are you sure about it taking the casting time of the spell? The big draw of this ring in earlier editions was the 1 round activating the magic item time so spells that took a minute could be cast in battle and I see nothing in the description that says the casting time is not the item activation time.
I am much shakier on this, but there is no bonus on any ritual spells for casting above level, so I'd argue that the spell slot taken level would be the base spell level, but not for long. I'm only suspecting this is the intent, so it's just a bring up the idea and let it get no'ed without any objection.
(I just noticed the guy above me said that crossed out part in a much more intelligent way, so I crossed it out and added this.)
This came up recently in our game and I wandered into this thread.
Here is my take on it. When a spell is cast into the ring, you expend the spell slot as mentioned in the ring description. You are moving the spell from the caster by expending their spell slot and having the ring "memorize" the spell / store it.
You do cast the spell from the ring as per usual casting rules. (Mentioned in Post #2) Core Spellcasting (PHB) rules state a spell with the ritual tag can be cast as a spell - OR - a ritual. Note that it is the spell itself that allows this.
Casting the spell from the ring follows normal casting rules. (See Post #2 and Spellcasting PHB) If you cast normally, you expend the spell slot, If you cast as a ritual, you do not. A spell with the ritual tag doesn't care where the source of the spell is coming from whether it is from the caster themselves or from the ring doesn't matter.
Therefore, I came to the conclusion that if a spell with the ritual tag is cast into the ring, with a spell slot that is expended while doing so, The ring will take the spell. It seems that the rules do seem to support that a spell which is also a ritual can be cast as a ritual with the ring and the ring slot is not expended.
How the user of the ring chooses to cast the spell with the ritual tag is their prerogative.
This came up recently in our game and I wandered into this thread.
Here is my take on it. When a spell is cast into the ring, you expend the spell slot as mentioned in the ring description. You are moving the spell from the caster by expending their spell slot and having the ring "memorize" the spell / store it.
You do cast the spell from the ring as per usual casting rules. (Mentioned in Post #2) Core Spellcasting (PHB) rules state a spell with the ritual tag can be cast as a spell - OR - a ritual. Note that it is the spell itself that allows this.
Casting the spell from the ring follows normal casting rules. (See Post #2 and Spellcasting PHB) If you cast normally, you expend the spell slot, If you cast as a ritual, you do not. A spell with the ritual tag doesn't care where the source of the spell is coming from whether it is from the caster themselves or from the ring doesn't matter.
Therefore, I came to the conclusion that if a spell with the ritual tag is cast into the ring, with a spell slot that is expended while doing so, The ring will take the spell. It seems that the rules do seem to support that a spell which is also a ritual can be cast as a ritual with the ring and the ring slot is not expended.
How the user of the ring chooses to cast the spell with the ritual tag is their prerogative.
A Ring of Spell Storing doesn't have spell slots. So even if you could cast the spells stored in the ring as rituals, all it would do is extend the casting time. Spells are stored in the ring, once they're cast they're no longer stored in the ring. Ritual casting is irrelevant.
The 2024 spellcasting rules make a point of differentiating between casting spells by expending a spell slot vs casting spells without expending a spell slot, which can be done in many ways including casting a cantrip, casting a spell as a ritual, using a special ability to cast the spell that doesn't require a spell slot, and casting a spell from a magic item.
The 2014 version of the Ring of Spell Storing talks about storing Levels of spells, and it says that these levels are determined by the spell slot that was used to store the spell. But it doesn't really explicitly give any other restrictions on use so it's a bit vague. The best interpretation is probably that you must use a spell slot to store a spell into the ring.
Just like the wording for many 2014 spells was cleaned up and clarified and sometimes completely modified by the new 2024 rules, I fully expect the same to be true of the 2024 DMG when it comes to the description of Magic Items, so stay tuned.
You can cast any spell (including rituals) into the ring as long as the total number of levels of spells doesn't exceed 5.
When putting a spell into the ring, you cast it normally except on completion nothing happens. This would include casting a ritual.
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring
While attuned to the ring, the wearer can cast the spell with the following caveats:
The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster
Otherwise the spell is cast normally:
but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell
Meaning the casting time is unaffected.
tl;dr - a ritual spell takes ritual time to be cast into and out of the ring.
We use this simple interpretation. When we fill the ring we note it in the notes and place an r at the end of the spell if it was cast as a ritual. No up casting allowed.
All found rings are assumed to be found with non rituals already in them. If they have spells at all.
We also do not allow any items that "cast" spells to be used to fill a ring of storing. One player tried.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a Ring of Spell Storing hold Rituals? If so, what would be the casting time when releasing from the ring?
Cedo nulli, Calcanda semel via leti.
Parvi sed magni.
You can cast any spell (including rituals) into the ring as long as the total number of levels of spells doesn't exceed 5.
When putting a spell into the ring, you cast it normally except on completion nothing happens. This would include casting a ritual.
While attuned to the ring, the wearer can cast the spell with the following caveats:
Otherwise the spell is cast normally:
Meaning the casting time is unaffected.
tl;dr - a ritual spell takes ritual time to be cast into and out of the ring.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Thnx!
Cedo nulli, Calcanda semel via leti.
Parvi sed magni.
It is a DM call and RAW, I would tend to say that no, you can't cast a ritual into a ring of spell storing.
From DMG: Ring of Spell Storing
"The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses."
"The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster,"
PHB: Rituals
"The ritual version of a spell takes 10 minutes longer to cast than normal. It also doesn't expend a spell slot,"
Since rituals do not use spell slots while the ring requires the spell slot level to determine the storage capacity and casting level in the ring then a DM could just as easily conclude that you can't cast spells using a ritual into a ring of spell storing because they don't use spell slots.
The bottom line in either case is to ask your DM what they would allow.
Ah, good point. I completely overlooked that the ring requires expending a slot to determine spell level, which ritual casting does not do.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Despite that technicality in the rules, I would let a ritual be cast into the ring as if it used a spell slot. With a 10 minute casting time it isn’t over powering so I would let it work.
Professional computer geek
I disagree. Ritual spell casting doesn't expend a spell slot, but it still has a spell slot. Every spell has a well-defined spell level for which it would consume a slot if it's not cast ritually.
I would rule as this indicates. A caster can cast a spell with the ritual tag, as a ritual (thus not burning their spell slot) and the spell is stored at it's base level. The wearer of the ring would cast it as a normal casting time (non-ritual) because it's being spent from the ring. The OP question may have been wondering if say, Tiny Hut was cast on the ring, would it have an endless supply of that spell, because rituals don't use a spell slot, so maybe they wouldn't remove the spell from the ring?
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
Spells do NOT have spell slots. Spell slots are used to cast. The spell has a spell level, not a spell slot. Spell levels are the minimum spell slot you can use to cast it.
Are you sure about it taking the casting time of the spell? The big draw of this ring in earlier editions was the 1 round activating the magic item time so spells that took a minute could be cast in battle and I see nothing in the description that says the casting time is not the item activation time.
I am much shakier on this, but there is no bonus on any ritual spells for casting above level, so I'd argue that the spell slot taken level would be the base spell level, but not for long. I'm only suspecting this is the intent, so it's just a bring up the idea and let it get no'ed without any objection.
(I just noticed the guy above me said that crossed out part in a much more intelligent way, so I crossed it out and added this.)This came up recently in our game and I wandered into this thread.
Here is my take on it. When a spell is cast into the ring, you expend the spell slot as mentioned in the ring description. You are moving the spell from the caster by expending their spell slot and having the ring "memorize" the spell / store it.
You do cast the spell from the ring as per usual casting rules. (Mentioned in Post #2) Core Spellcasting (PHB) rules state a spell with the ritual tag can be cast as a spell - OR - a ritual. Note that it is the spell itself that allows this.
Casting the spell from the ring follows normal casting rules. (See Post #2 and Spellcasting PHB) If you cast normally, you expend the spell slot, If you cast as a ritual, you do not. A spell with the ritual tag doesn't care where the source of the spell is coming from whether it is from the caster themselves or from the ring doesn't matter.
Therefore, I came to the conclusion that if a spell with the ritual tag is cast into the ring, with a spell slot that is expended while doing so, The ring will take the spell. It seems that the rules do seem to support that a spell which is also a ritual can be cast as a ritual with the ring and the ring slot is not expended.
How the user of the ring chooses to cast the spell with the ritual tag is their prerogative.
A Ring of Spell Storing doesn't have spell slots. So even if you could cast the spells stored in the ring as rituals, all it would do is extend the casting time. Spells are stored in the ring, once they're cast they're no longer stored in the ring. Ritual casting is irrelevant.
The 2024 spellcasting rules make a point of differentiating between casting spells by expending a spell slot vs casting spells without expending a spell slot, which can be done in many ways including casting a cantrip, casting a spell as a ritual, using a special ability to cast the spell that doesn't require a spell slot, and casting a spell from a magic item.
The 2014 version of the Ring of Spell Storing talks about storing Levels of spells, and it says that these levels are determined by the spell slot that was used to store the spell. But it doesn't really explicitly give any other restrictions on use so it's a bit vague. The best interpretation is probably that you must use a spell slot to store a spell into the ring.
Just like the wording for many 2014 spells was cleaned up and clarified and sometimes completely modified by the new 2024 rules, I fully expect the same to be true of the 2024 DMG when it comes to the description of Magic Items, so stay tuned.
We use this simple interpretation.
When we fill the ring we note it in the notes and place an r at the end of the spell if it was cast as a ritual.
No up casting allowed.
All found rings are assumed to be found with non rituals already in them. If they have spells at all.
We also do not allow any items that "cast" spells to be used to fill a ring of storing. One player tried.