I currently have the Warcaster feat on my Forge cleric, and am debating picking up the Sentinel feat next. My question is: would using the Toll the Dead cantrip trigger the Sentinel feat's third buff (if my oppurtunity attack hits, the creatures movement becomes 0 this turn)? Or does it not because it is a save spell, and not an "attack" spell?
Warcaster allows you to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an opportunity attack. So if you use that, you have not made an opportunity attack (regardless of whether the spell deals any damage or has any other effect on the creature or what kind of rolls the spell requires you or the target to make) and so it does not activate Sentinel.
Warcaster allows you to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an opportunity attack. So if you use that, you have not made an opportunity attack (regardless of whether the spell deals any damage or has any other effect on the creature or what kind of rolls the spell requires you or the target to make) and so it does not activate Sentinel.
This would include spells like Booming Blade. Warcaster's "OA" is a replacement effect that triggers on an OA but isn't an OA itself.
Warcaster allows you to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an opportunity attack. So if you use that, you have not made an opportunity attack (regardless of whether the spell deals any damage or has any other effect on the creature or what kind of rolls the spell requires you or the target to make) and so it does not activate Sentinel.
This would include spells like Booming Blade. Warcaster's "OA" is a replacement effect that triggers on an OA but isn't an OA itself.
Well, damn... thank you both for pointing that out. :)
Sentinel is not a great combo with War Caster. However, Polearm Masteris great with War Caster. If you're using sword & board style, use a Spear. Enemies entering your reach will provoke an OA (in addition to leaving reach), which you can then convert to a spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I'm looking at doing something similar but finding RAW, Sentinel allows you to "use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature." It doesn't give you an opportunity attack, sadly.
Unless this has been officially ruled as an OA, which would make me happy.
I currently have the Warcaster feat on my Forge cleric, and am debating picking up the Sentinel feat next. My question is: would using the Toll the Dead cantrip trigger the Sentinel feat's third buff (if my oppurtunity attack hits, the creatures movement becomes 0 this turn)? Or does it not because it is a save spell, and not an "attack" spell?
It would not because Toll of the Dead is not an attack. Also, using a reaction to cast a spell with War Caster or make a melee attack with Sentinel are not Opportunity Attacks.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
No, it cannot be a weapon attack within a spell, because nothing about the feature lets you cast a spell.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
No, it cannot be a weapon attack within a spell, because nothing about the feature lets you cast a spell.
If they're talking about the trigger, then yes any attack can trigger sentinel's attack. If they are using that as proof of what can be used to make the attack that is triggered, then I absolutely agree. Not even Warcaster can cause the replacement because the attack granted by sentinel in that paragraph isn't an opportunity attack.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
No, it cannot be a weapon attack within a spell, because nothing about the feature lets you cast a spell.
That's a different thing.
The attack that sentinel responds to can certainly involve a physical attack and, as far as I can see, that includes a physical attack within a spell.
When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature.
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
No, it cannot be a weapon attack within a spell, because nothing about the feature lets you cast a spell.
That's a different thing.
The attack that sentinel responds to can certainly involve a physical attack and, as far as I can see, that includes a physical attack within a spell.
Yes, I misunderstood which attack you were talking about. Thanks for clarifying.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I currently have the Warcaster feat on my Forge cleric, and am debating picking up the Sentinel feat next. My question is: would using the Toll the Dead cantrip trigger the Sentinel feat's third buff (if my oppurtunity attack hits, the creatures movement becomes 0 this turn)? Or does it not because it is a save spell, and not an "attack" spell?
Warcaster allows you to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an opportunity attack. So if you use that, you have not made an opportunity attack (regardless of whether the spell deals any damage or has any other effect on the creature or what kind of rolls the spell requires you or the target to make) and so it does not activate Sentinel.
This would include spells like Booming Blade. Warcaster's "OA" is a replacement effect that triggers on an OA but isn't an OA itself.
Well, damn... thank you both for pointing that out. :)
Sentinel is not a great combo with War Caster. However, Polearm Master is great with War Caster. If you're using sword & board style, use a Spear. Enemies entering your reach will provoke an OA (in addition to leaving reach), which you can then convert to a spell.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I'm looking at doing something similar but finding RAW, Sentinel allows you to "use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature." It doesn't give you an opportunity attack, sadly.
Unless this has been officially ruled as an OA, which would make me happy.
It would not because Toll of the Dead is not an attack. Also, using a reaction to cast a spell with War Caster or make a melee attack with Sentinel are not Opportunity Attacks.
Sentinel
...
I'd take this attack as being an "actions in combat" type attack, governed by the rules for making an attack, as a weapon attack. It can be an, at close-range, ranged weapon attack or a similarly close-ranged melee weapon attack. It can be a weapon attack within a spell such as green flame blade but it must be a weapon attack.
"You have mastered techniques to take advantage of every drop in any enemy's guard, ..." I take this as being descriptive of physical combat.
No, it cannot be a weapon attack within a spell, because nothing about the feature lets you cast a spell.
If they're talking about the trigger, then yes any attack can trigger sentinel's attack. If they are using that as proof of what can be used to make the attack that is triggered, then I absolutely agree. Not even Warcaster can cause the replacement because the attack granted by sentinel in that paragraph isn't an opportunity attack.
That's a different thing.
The attack that sentinel responds to can certainly involve a physical attack and, as far as I can see, that includes a physical attack within a spell.
Yes, Sentinel 's third benefit can be triggerred by a spell attack. But Toll of the Dead is not an attack.
phb/combat#MakinganAttack doesn't mention spells as an attack option.Yes it does, in several places even.
Yes, I misunderstood which attack you were talking about. Thanks for clarifying.