If the party is in and adventure and a door is held shut that can be opened only with Knock, but there are no wizards in the party... can a warlock understand and use a scroll of knock if they find one? Or would it just be described as a Scroll you can't understand?
1. If the spell is on the character's class spell list, and it is a level they can cast, they can cast it with no problems.
2. If the spell is on a character's class spell list, but is a higher level than they can cast, they can attempt to cast it by making an Arcana or Religion check (obviously corresponding to the type of spell it is) vs DC of 10 + the spell's level.
3. If the character is not a spell caster, they can attempt to cast the spell from the scroll with an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spell's level with Disadvantage. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
4. If the character is a spell caster, but the spell is not on their class spell list, they can attempt to cast the spell by making an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spells level with neither advantage or disadvantage. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Orcs are savage raiders and pillagers with stooped postures, low foreheads, and piggish faces with prominent lower canines that resemble tusks." MM p245 (original printing) You don't OWN your books on DDB: WotC can change them any time. What do you think will happen when OneD&D comes out?
If the party is in and adventure and a door is held shut that can be opened only with Knock, but there are no wizards in the party... can a warlock understand and use a scroll of knock if they find one? Or would it just be described as a Scroll you can't understand?
MM
Is knock on the warlock spell list? If not, then no; you can only use a spell scroll if the spell is on your class' spell list.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
A character can read a spell scroll if that spell is on the class spell list.
I use a houserule for scrolls as follows:
1. If the spell is on the character's class spell list, and it is a level they can cast, they can cast it with no problems.
2. If the spell is on a character's class spell list, but is a higher level than they can cast, they can attempt to cast it by making an Arcana or Religion check (obviously corresponding to the type of spell it is) vs DC of 10 + the spell's level.
3. If the character is not a spell caster, they can attempt to cast the spell from the scroll with an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spell's level with Disadvantage. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
4. If the character is a spell caster, but the spell is not on their class spell list, they can attempt to cast the spell by making an Arcana or Religion check vs DC 10 + the spells level with neither advantage or disadvantage. If the check fails, the spell fails and they must make a scroll mishap check as per the variant rule in the DMG. (DC 10 Int Save). On a failed save they roll on the mishap table in the DMG.
"Orcs are savage raiders and pillagers with stooped postures, low foreheads, and piggish faces with prominent lower canines that resemble tusks." MM p245 (original printing)
You don't OWN your books on DDB: WotC can change them any time. What do you think will happen when OneD&D comes out?
Perfect thanks guys. I'm assuming it would be the same if it was say...a ring of knock...not sure if one exists but I could always make one.
No, spells from items do not have that restriction. So, if you find a ring of knock anyone can use it unless there is a restriction on the attunement.
Ahhh good to know! Thanks