Can a Wizard buy a spell scroll example, 'Floating Disk', and immediately try to scribe it into its spellbook?
I know from PHB that Wizards, "For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 GP. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells."
And DMG, "A wizard spell on a spell scroll can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell’s level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed."
While this seems to be straight forward I was not sure if a Spell Scroll (Single-use consumable) is different than say a piece of paper that has the spell written on it, (non-consumable) and if one or both can be scribed into a spellbook.
The PHB’s rules are the generic ones for adding spells to a wizard’s spellbook from, for example, a different wizard’s spellbook.
The DMG’s rules are more specific and particular the magic item spell scroll. The wizard still needs to follow the PHB’s rules as normal, with the additional requirement of passing the Arcana check.
Yes, as far as I know you can immediately try to write a spell from a standard scroll into your spell book, assuming you have the ability to cast the spell.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
Yep, spells from a scroll can be copied the same way spells from a spellbook can (50gp and 2 hours per level) with the additional rule of an arcana DC 10 + level check.
This refers to a spell scroll, a piece of spell parchment, prepared with expensive inks and infused with magics.
A piece of paper with a spell written on it would could as basically a single page spellbook
I know this is my decision but I just wanted to get the opinion of the hivemind.
Would you say a magic/spell shop could sell both Spell Scroll (consumable) and Spell Sheets (non-consumable) assuming price difference for each kind?
I don't see why not. As Davedamonpointed out, it would just be like a page from a Spellbook. Many times in our games, Spellbooks have been found with no one that can use them in the party. They get sold to whoever would pay for them, Apothecaries, Clergy, Guilds and of course, those who deal in magical wares. There would be no reason that it couldn't be reasonably possible to find one for sale.
I know this is my decision but I just wanted to get the opinion of the hivemind.
Would you say a magic/spell shop could sell both Spell Scroll (consumable) and Spell Sheets (non-consumable) assuming price difference for each kind?
I don't see why not. As Davedamonpointed out, it would just be like a page from a Spellbook. Many times in our games, Spellbooks have been found with no one that can use them in the party. They get sold to whoever would pay for them, Apothecaries, Clergy, Guilds and of course, those who deal in magical wares. There would be no reason that it couldn't be reasonably possible to find one for sale.
Yup, and it's a fairly common (campaign dependent) practice for organizations like that to turn around and charge people for the privilege of copying spells from those spellbooks into their own.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can a Wizard buy a spell scroll example, 'Floating Disk', and immediately try to scribe it into its spellbook?
I know from PHB that Wizards, "For each level of the spell, the process takes 2 hours and costs 50 GP. The cost represents material components you expend as you experiment with the spell to master it, as well as the fine inks you need to record it. Once you have spent this time and money, you can prepare the spell just like your other spells."
And DMG, "A wizard spell on a spell scroll can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a spell scroll, the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell’s level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the spell scroll is destroyed."
While this seems to be straight forward I was not sure if a Spell Scroll (Single-use consumable) is different than say a piece of paper that has the spell written on it, (non-consumable) and if one or both can be scribed into a spellbook.
The PHB’s rules are the generic ones for adding spells to a wizard’s spellbook from, for example, a different wizard’s spellbook.
The DMG’s rules are more specific and particular the magic item spell scroll. The wizard still needs to follow the PHB’s rules as normal, with the additional requirement of passing the Arcana check.
Yes, as far as I know you can immediately try to write a spell from a standard scroll into your spell book, assuming you have the ability to cast the spell.
WOTC lies. We know that WOTC lies. WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. We know that WOTC knows that we know that WOTC lies. And still they lie.
Because of the above (a paraphrase from Orwell) I no longer post to the forums -- PM me if you need help or anything.
Yep, spells from a scroll can be copied the same way spells from a spellbook can (50gp and 2 hours per level) with the additional rule of an arcana DC 10 + level check.
This refers to a spell scroll, a piece of spell parchment, prepared with expensive inks and infused with magics.
A piece of paper with a spell written on it would could as basically a single page spellbook
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I know this is my decision but I just wanted to get the opinion of the hivemind.
Would you say a magic/spell shop could sell both Spell Scroll (consumable) and Spell Sheets (non-consumable) assuming price difference for each kind?
I don't see why not. As Davedamon pointed out, it would just be like a page from a Spellbook. Many times in our games, Spellbooks have been found with no one that can use them in the party. They get sold to whoever would pay for them, Apothecaries, Clergy, Guilds and of course, those who deal in magical wares. There would be no reason that it couldn't be reasonably possible to find one for sale.
Yup, and it's a fairly common (campaign dependent) practice for organizations like that to turn around and charge people for the privilege of copying spells from those spellbooks into their own.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.