You can use it once, giving yourself a 5-foot radius aura which deals poison damage equal to your charisma modifier. It lasts until you are incapacitated (which just means you can't take an action or bonus action) or dismiss it as a bonus action. You regain your one use of it after finishing a short or long rest.
Since the short rest can be something as simple as going for a walk or having silent reading time, and I could in theory interrupt that to perform an action or bonus action at any time (which I don't because I want the short rest to complete), does that mean I can activate CoF, do a short rest, then activate another instance if CoF to have two simultaneous damaging auras?
I understand that's just Rules as Written and probably not the intended way to use it, and I'd be a jerk for using it like that, but do I have it right? Is that possible?
You can use it once, giving yourself a 5-foot radius aura which deals poison damage equal to your charisma modifier. It lasts until you are incapacitated (which just means you can't take an action or bonus action) or dismiss it as a bonus action. You regain your one use of it after finishing a short or long rest.
Since the short rest can be something as simple as going for a walk or having silent reading time, and I could in theory interrupt that to perform an action or bonus action at any time (which I don't because I want the short rest to complete), does that mean I can activate CoF, do a short rest, then activate another instance if CoF to have two simultaneous damaging auras?
I understand that's just Rules as Written and probably not the intended way to use it, and I'd be a jerk for using it like that, but do I have it right? Is that possible?
No, it is not possible. You cannot benefit from more than one instance of the same magical effect or named feature.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
You can use it once, giving yourself a 5-foot radius aura which deals poison damage equal to your charisma modifier. It lasts until you are incapacitated (which just means you can't take an action or bonus action) or dismiss it as a bonus action. You regain your one use of it after finishing a short or long rest.
Since the short rest can be something as simple as going for a walk or having silent reading time, and I could in theory interrupt that to perform an action or bonus action at any time (which I don't because I want the short rest to complete), does that mean I can activate CoF, do a short rest, then activate another instance if CoF to have two simultaneous damaging auras?
I understand that's just Rules as Written and probably not the intended way to use it, and I'd be a jerk for using it like that, but do I have it right? Is that possible?
No, it is not possible. You cannot benefit from more than one instance of the same magical effect or named feature.
Combining game effects
Combining magical effects
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
I see, thank you! It felt like I didn't have that correct