Hi. The new maneuver i Tashas allow you to add your martial die to your stealth/initiative roll. What is unclear to me is if this can be added after the roll, or if it must be done before you make the roll.
The ability says "When you make a ***check", which would imply it must be chosen before you roll, but this would be different than most other Maneuvers that gives an add-on effect.
Usually abilities will specifically say when you can add the bonus after the roll (as precision shot does). Ambush, commanding presence, and tactical assessment don't specify, so I assume you have to choose whether or not to use them before your roll.
That isn't as fun though, so I would house rule they can be used after seeing your roll first. As long as DM is consistent about it.
We can theorize from Crawfords musings that you must make the check before you do whatever comes after.
THEIR DIFFERENT!! You could also argue that IF specifically doesn't elude to order of operation and requires interpretation and WHEN eludes to actively doing - which implies order of operation connotations. If so.. I ask you this:
Have you ever not let a player roll their bless d4 because they didn't roll it at the exact same time as their save or attack? Bless is optional and is used WHEN they make the roll, but even RAW you would never play it like that and no one is going to make you.
Its not a perfect argument, but its all I've got until we get an official ruling.
In such situation, if it's a ressource the player character is spending, i prefer to let him or her make the roll before deciding to apply any feature as it sucks to waste precious ressources for nothing when the roll is already high enought to likely succeed.
Unless noted otherwise, i just apply the notion that
The creature can wait until after it rolls the d20 before deciding to use it, but must decide before the DM says whether the roll succeeds or fails.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi. The new maneuver i Tashas allow you to add your martial die to your stealth/initiative roll. What is unclear to me is if this can be added after the roll, or if it must be done before you make the roll.
The ability says "When you make a ***check", which would imply it must be chosen before you roll, but this would be different than most other Maneuvers that gives an add-on effect.
Thoughts?
Usually abilities will specifically say when you can add the bonus after the roll (as precision shot does). Ambush, commanding presence, and tactical assessment don't specify, so I assume you have to choose whether or not to use them before your roll.
That isn't as fun though, so I would house rule they can be used after seeing your roll first. As long as DM is consistent about it.
RAW is not clear. RAI ruling is needed.
'IF' and 'WHEN'
"If you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check or an initiative roll."
vs
"When you make a Dexterity (Stealth) check or an initiative roll."
You can argue these are used in the same way, as conditionals based on an activity.
We can theorize from Crawfords musings that you must make the check before you do whatever comes after.
THEIR DIFFERENT!!
You could also argue that IF specifically doesn't elude to order of operation and requires interpretation and WHEN eludes to actively doing - which implies order of operation connotations. If so.. I ask you this:
Have you ever not let a player roll their bless d4 because they didn't roll it at the exact same time as their save or attack?
Bless is optional and is used WHEN they make the roll, but even RAW you would never play it like that and no one is going to make you.
Its not a perfect argument, but its all I've got until we get an official ruling.
In such situation, if it's a ressource the player character is spending, i prefer to let him or her make the roll before deciding to apply any feature as it sucks to waste precious ressources for nothing when the roll is already high enought to likely succeed.
Unless noted otherwise, i just apply the notion that