I feel the description for this ability in Tasha's book is pretty vague at best.
It allows you to create a tentacle within 60ft range visible and has a 10 ft reach, doing 1d8 cold damage. It says it lasts up to 1 minute or until you cast another one. To me the closest thing to this would be the Spiritual Hammer spell. This ability doesn't mention anything about maintaining concentration, being within a certain distance of it, having AC or hit points. Curious how everyone handles this ability? I would assume i just attack with it as a BA on my turn when i want, but i could also just have it hanging out in the space I left it while using something like E Blast on other opponents, and then come back to using it within the 1 minute mark if i choose to.
Agree with spiritual hammer. I would also assume there is no way to attack it, etc. Would you agree that Dispel Magic would dismiss it?
Dispel Magic only dispels spells, and how it dispels them is based on the spell's level. Tentacles of the Deep is not a spell, and accordingly it has no spell level to determine how Dispel Magic would dispel it if it were a spell. Accordingly, Dispel Magic will not do anything to Tentacles of the Deep.
Note that you can target the TotD tentacle with Dispel Magic, and it will follow its RAW, attempting to dispel all spells on the tentacle, with a method that depends on each spell's level. I'm saying the tentacle itself will be unaffected by Dispel Magic.
Well it could be interpreted as working on the tentacle as Dispel Magic says one magical effect. As it relates to spells it tells you how to determine the DC but it’s not mandatory to be a spell. One reading is it will automatically dispel any non-spell magical effect and only spells over 3rd require a roll (unless you upcast)
Edit: or if the DM wants to make a DC it could work
Well it could be interpreted as working on the tentacle as Dispel Magic says one magical effect.
No, that's what you target. Dispel Magic can dispel all spells on a target magical effect. That doesn't mean it can dispel magical effects.
As it relates to spells it tells you how to determine the DC but it’s not mandatory to be a spell.
Dispel Magic explicitly states it is mandatory that it is spells only that are dispelled because that's all it does: "Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability." Anything that isn't a spell won't satisfy either sentence, and there aren't any other sentences for what the spell actually does.
One reading is it will automatically dispel any non-spell magical effect and only spells over 3rd require a roll (unless you upcast)
That would be disregarding the RAW, which is neither vague nor ambiguous.
Yea quindraco is right (and I was wrong). The effect of Dispel Magic is to end spells, not "effects". You can however target "effects" even if they aren't created by a spell.
I feel the description for this ability in Tasha's book is pretty vague at best.
It isn’t remotely vague. The description tells you exactly what it does. It tells you the range where you can place it, it tells you it’s attack and damage types and values, it tells you how long it lasts and how often you can use it, it tells you the type of action you must take to use it. It has no AC, no HP, and can’t be targeted by an attack.
What’s vague? The only thing it doesn’t tell you is what colour it is, I guess you could argue that makes it vague. I guess. May be.
Well it could be interpreted as working on the tentacle as Dispel Magic says one magical effect.
No, that's what you target. Dispel Magic can dispel all spells on a target magical effect. That doesn't mean it can dispel magical effects.
As it relates to spells it tells you how to determine the DC but it’s not mandatory to be a spell.
Dispel Magic explicitly states it is mandatory that it is spells only that are dispelled because that's all it does: "Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability." Anything that isn't a spell won't satisfy either sentence, and there aren't any other sentences for what the spell actually does.
One reading is it will automatically dispel any non-spell magical effect and only spells over 3rd require a roll (unless you upcast)
That would be disregarding the RAW, which is neither vague nor ambiguous.
I feel the description for this ability in Tasha's book is pretty vague at best.
It allows you to create a tentacle within 60ft range visible and has a 10 ft reach, doing 1d8 cold damage. It says it lasts up to 1 minute or until you cast another one. To me the closest thing to this would be the Spiritual Hammer spell. This ability doesn't mention anything about maintaining concentration, being within a certain distance of it, having AC or hit points. Curious how everyone handles this ability? I would assume i just attack with it as a BA on my turn when i want, but i could also just have it hanging out in the space I left it while using something like E Blast on other opponents, and then come back to using it within the 1 minute mark if i choose to.
Yeah, it is basically spiritual hammer. No concentration, doesn't end when out of range, etc.
Agree with spiritual hammer. I would also assume there is no way to attack it, etc. Would you agree that Dispel Magic would dismiss it?
Dispel Magic would definitely work,
bothona tentacle anda "hammer".Dispel Magic only dispels spells, and how it dispels them is based on the spell's level. Tentacles of the Deep is not a spell, and accordingly it has no spell level to determine how Dispel Magic would dispel it if it were a spell. Accordingly, Dispel Magic will not do anything to Tentacles of the Deep.
Note that you can target the TotD tentacle with Dispel Magic, and it will follow its RAW, attempting to dispel all spells on the tentacle, with a method that depends on each spell's level. I'm saying the tentacle itself will be unaffected by Dispel Magic.
Well it could be interpreted as working on the tentacle as Dispel Magic says one magical effect. As it relates to spells it tells you how to determine the DC but it’s not mandatory to be a spell. One reading is it will automatically dispel any non-spell magical effect and only spells over 3rd require a roll (unless you upcast)
Edit: or if the DM wants to make a DC it could work
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
No, that's what you target. Dispel Magic can dispel all spells on a target magical effect. That doesn't mean it can dispel magical effects.
Dispel Magic explicitly states it is mandatory that it is spells only that are dispelled because that's all it does: "Any spell of 3rd level or lower on the target ends. For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability." Anything that isn't a spell won't satisfy either sentence, and there aren't any other sentences for what the spell actually does.
That would be disregarding the RAW, which is neither vague nor ambiguous.
Yea quindraco is right (and I was wrong). The effect of Dispel Magic is to end spells, not "effects". You can however target "effects" even if they aren't created by a spell.
It isn’t remotely vague. The description tells you exactly what it does. It tells you the range where you can place it, it tells you it’s attack and damage types and values, it tells you how long it lasts and how often you can use it, it tells you the type of action you must take to use it. It has no AC, no HP, and can’t be targeted by an attack.
What’s vague? The only thing it doesn’t tell you is what colour it is, I guess you could argue that makes it vague. I guess. May be.
I stand corrected. Thank you.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?