If I have an intelligent familiar with opposable thumbs, say an Imp from Pact of the Chain, can it use magic items? Can it attune to them?
If it can, then the next question is can it improve itself, say through the training downtime activity in Xanathar's Guide? Given enough time, could my familiar learn every language and tool?
Animals and monsters are able to use equipment (i.e. Horseshoes of Speed) so, I don't see why a familiar couldn't also benefit from magic items. The real question is: what happens to the item when the familiar is dismissed/dies, since it vanishes and <spell>Find Familiar</spell> says nothing of the items it is carrying remaining.
I, unfortunately, haven't picked up XGtE yet, so I haven't read up on downtime training, but I'd assume that training was something that would be more of a player thing than an NPC/creature thing.
“It is a better world. A place where we are responsible for our actions, where we can be kind to one another because we want to and because it is the right thing to do instead of being frightened into behaving by the threat of divine punishment.” ― Oramis, Eldest by Christopher Paolini.
From the DDAL-FAQ "...any item attuned to an NPC under your control (such as but not limited to, familiars, beast companions, simulacrums, conjured creatures, hirelings, lickspittles, etc.) counts against both the controlling character’s limit of three attuned items and the character’s permanent magic item count."
While in casual, non-AL games permanent magic item count doesn't matter the first section does. So you can't use a familiar to get three extra attunements, even if Impsy looks marvelous in that miniature Robe of the Archmage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
GM of The Bonus Role - We are playing a 5E game set in my homebrew world of Audra check us out Sunday's at 10 AM CST and follow us at the following social media links. https://www.twitch.tv/thebonusrole @BonusRole
From the DDAL-FAQ "...any item attuned to an NPC under your control (such as but not limited to, familiars, beast companions, simulacrums, conjured creatures, hirelings, lickspittles, etc.) counts against both the controlling character’s limit of three attuned items and the character’s permanent magic item count."
While in casual, non-AL games permanent magic item count doesn't matter the first section does. So you can't use a familiar to get three extra attunements, even if Impsy looks marvelous in that miniature Robe of the Archmage.
There is no reason why a non-AL game has to keep itself to any of the the AL rules and guidelines.
There is nothing present in the rule-books themselves that causes an item attuned to an NPC associated with a particular PC to count against that PC's limit of 3 attuned items.
Well as I said, in casual non-al games perm magic item count doesn't matter. I only said the first section does matter because it maintains some level of balance, otherwise there is a statistical advantage of every player seeking out a familiar of some sort to get an NPC with three more attunement slots, even if that NPC can't attack, since they can take other actions like aid and use object. But I mean this is a casual game we are talking about, a DM could just say that attunement does not matter, or count, or is even in effect.
As was said there is nothing in the rule-books that cover this so next step is to ask google if anyone else has asked this question. The only source I found touching the topic was the DDAL FAQ and so that is what I reported.
This is why I love this game. It is infinitely mutable, one game may have one rule while another doesn't. You can play in one game as a warlock with an imp familiar that you make dress up in little wizard robes and hats and forced to carry around a wand, like its a staff and it is not the weirdest thing yet. I mean if you want to get really crazy, get a Gazer familiar. Since there are no magic item slots anymore you can put a ring on each of its eye stalks. It may mock and bad mouth you and possibly even try to bite you but hey, blinged out familiar FTW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
GM of The Bonus Role - We are playing a 5E game set in my homebrew world of Audra check us out Sunday's at 10 AM CST and follow us at the following social media links. https://www.twitch.tv/thebonusrole @BonusRole
So, why does the fact that my bodyguard is attuned to a weapon of warning mean that I can only attune to two items instead of the normal three? What if my bodyguard is another PC?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
So, why does the fact that my bodyguard is attuned to a weapon of warning mean that I can only attune to two items instead of the normal three? What if my bodyguard is another PC?
I like the thought progression here. Personally I see it as "who is in control." A bodyguard should have their own slots, but only the DM is the one in control of the NPC actions, to prevent twinking the rules here.
A Familiar on the other hand like an Imp, I would lean towards "sure it could attune, but since you have a bonded relationship, it still counts as your attunment" especially since the player has control. Seems to be the basis for the AL rules. This might be more nuanced in the case of a mage who has Roleplayed a familiar relationship with a pseudodragon, and the DM is still in control. Might be room for negotiation there.
To understand it, we just have to look at WHY the attunement rule exists.
It exists to minimise power creep and stacking too many powerful items under the control of one player.
So, the attunement rule is applied effectively to the player and therefore to all creatures under that player's control.
There is no real in-character rationale behind attunement for a game world, but you could have game worlds where the attunement limit is 4 or 5 as a base instead, as a homebrew rule.
If I have an intelligent familiar with opposable thumbs, say an Imp from Pact of the Chain, can it use magic items? Can it attune to them?
If it can, then the next question is can it improve itself, say through the training downtime activity in Xanathar's Guide? Given enough time, could my familiar learn every language and tool?
Animals and monsters are able to use equipment (i.e. Horseshoes of Speed) so, I don't see why a familiar couldn't also benefit from magic items. The real question is: what happens to the item when the familiar is dismissed/dies, since it vanishes and <spell>Find Familiar</spell> says nothing of the items it is carrying remaining.
I, unfortunately, haven't picked up XGtE yet, so I haven't read up on downtime training, but I'd assume that training was something that would be more of a player thing than an NPC/creature thing.
Click Here to Download my Lancer Class w/ Dragoon and Legionnaire Archetypes via DM's Guild - Pay What You Want
Click Here to Download the Mind Flayer: Thoon Hulk converted from 4e via DM's Guild
“It is a better world. A place where we are responsible for our actions, where we can be kind to one another because we want to and because it is the right thing to do instead of being frightened into behaving by the threat of divine punishment.” ― Oramis, Eldest by Christopher Paolini.
While in casual, non-AL games permanent magic item count doesn't matter the first section does. So you can't use a familiar to get three extra attunements, even if Impsy looks marvelous in that miniature Robe of the Archmage.
GM of The Bonus Role - We are playing a 5E game set in my homebrew world of Audra check us out Sunday's at 10 AM CST and follow us at the following social media links.
https://www.twitch.tv/thebonusrole
@BonusRole
Well as I said, in casual non-al games perm magic item count doesn't matter. I only said the first section does matter because it maintains some level of balance, otherwise there is a statistical advantage of every player seeking out a familiar of some sort to get an NPC with three more attunement slots, even if that NPC can't attack, since they can take other actions like aid and use object. But I mean this is a casual game we are talking about, a DM could just say that attunement does not matter, or count, or is even in effect.
As was said there is nothing in the rule-books that cover this so next step is to ask google if anyone else has asked this question. The only source I found touching the topic was the DDAL FAQ and so that is what I reported.
This is why I love this game. It is infinitely mutable, one game may have one rule while another doesn't. You can play in one game as a warlock with an imp familiar that you make dress up in little wizard robes and hats and forced to carry around a wand, like its a staff and it is not the weirdest thing yet. I mean if you want to get really crazy, get a Gazer familiar. Since there are no magic item slots anymore you can put a ring on each of its eye stalks. It may mock and bad mouth you and possibly even try to bite you but hey, blinged out familiar FTW.
GM of The Bonus Role - We are playing a 5E game set in my homebrew world of Audra check us out Sunday's at 10 AM CST and follow us at the following social media links.
https://www.twitch.tv/thebonusrole
@BonusRole
So, why does the fact that my bodyguard is attuned to a weapon of warning mean that I can only attune to two items instead of the normal three? What if my bodyguard is another PC?
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
To understand it, we just have to look at WHY the attunement rule exists.
It exists to minimise power creep and stacking too many powerful items under the control of one player.
So, the attunement rule is applied effectively to the player and therefore to all creatures under that player's control.
There is no real in-character rationale behind attunement for a game world, but you could have game worlds where the attunement limit is 4 or 5 as a base instead, as a homebrew rule.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊