I'm playing a tiefling for the first time in a new campaign this or next week, and I just want to make sure I have the right idea of this before I make a fool of myself!
Tieflings get an inbuild Hellish Rebuke, once per long rest, as a second level spell. Do I have to expend a spell slot to use this ability (IE it allows me to cast the spell once, but otherwise as normal) or is this hellish rebuke a freebie?
Being second level, it would do 3D10 damage, correct?
What save DC would the target have to make against? The character is a paladin with Charisma 18, so would the save be vs my normal spell save of 16, or something else?
"When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the hellish rebuke spell as a 2nd-level spell once with this trait and regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest."
"Charisma is your spellcasting ability for these spells."
1) You can cast it once per long rest for free.
2) Yes. 3d10.
3) The description states that Tieflings use Charisma for racial spells.
Ideal, thankyou so much! Thus far I've played a barbarian with no magic and then a rogue who had very limited magic he never got to use, so magic remains somewhat unknown to me right now! Plus it was along old time ago now, what with the lurgy going around!
Ideal, thankyou so much! Thus far I've played a barbarian with no magic and then a rogue who had very limited magic he never got to use, so magic remains somewhat unknown to me right now! Plus it was along old time ago now, what with the lurgy going around!
One thing to keep in mind, this is a spell. So any effect that affects spells will affect the racial ability.
Like rage, you cannot use this ability while raging.
1 thing to add is that this is not treated as a class spell, so it can't be cast using spell slots. You would have to learn the spell normally to do so.
I'm playing a tiefling for the first time in a new campaign this or next week, and I just want to make sure I have the right idea of this before I make a fool of myself!
Tieflings get an inbuild Hellish Rebuke, once per long rest, as a second level spell. Do I have to expend a spell slot to use this ability (IE it allows me to cast the spell once, but otherwise as normal) or is this hellish rebuke a freebie?
Being second level, it would do 3D10 damage, correct?
What save DC would the target have to make against? The character is a paladin with Charisma 18, so would the save be vs my normal spell save of 16, or something else?
Thanks!
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
"When you reach 3rd level, you can cast the hellish rebuke spell as a 2nd-level spell once with this trait and regain the ability to do so when you finish a long rest."
"Charisma is your spellcasting ability for these spells."
1) You can cast it once per long rest for free.
2) Yes. 3d10.
3) The description states that Tieflings use Charisma for racial spells.
Ideal, thankyou so much! Thus far I've played a barbarian with no magic and then a rogue who had very limited magic he never got to use, so magic remains somewhat unknown to me right now! Plus it was along old time ago now, what with the lurgy going around!
Make your Artificer work with any other class with 174 Multiclassing Feats for your Artificer Multiclass Character!
DM's Guild Releases on This Thread Or check them all out on DMs Guild!
DrivethruRPG Releases on This Thread - latest release: My Character is a Werewolf: balanced rules for Lycanthropy!
I have started discussing/reviewing 3rd party D&D content on Substack - stay tuned for semi-regular posts!
One thing to keep in mind, this is a spell. So any effect that affects spells will affect the racial ability.
Like rage, you cannot use this ability while raging.
Memnosyne pretty much covered it.
1 thing to add is that this is not treated as a class spell, so it can't be cast using spell slots. You would have to learn the spell normally to do so.
Yeah I forgot about that. Wish it wasn't so.