In the gunslingers table, gunslingers gain the Lightning reload ability at level 15, which allows them to "reload any firearm as a bonus action". However, when viewing the "reload" mechanic described on the same page, the following description is available: "A limited number of shots can be made with a weapon that has the reload property. A character must then reload it using an action or a bonus action".
So can any character reload with a bonus action, or just 15th level gunslingers? Does this discrepancy come from the critical role influence?
Firearm proficiency in the Gunslinger section says "Reload. The weapon can be fired a number of times equal to its Reload score before you must spend 1 attack or 1 action to reload. You must have one free hand to reload a firearm."
So the 15th level ability is reducing THIS reload rule to allowing a bonus action to be used instead.
It seems that the reload property published in the Critical Role supplement didn't realise that the reload property was already published in the DMG.
The Gunslinger is also based on the Pathfinder(?) gunslinger so it has misfire rules, which don't exist in the DMG for their firearm rules.
In the gunslingers table, gunslingers gain the Lightning reload ability at level 15, which allows them to "reload any firearm as a bonus action". However, when viewing the "reload" mechanic described on the same page, the following description is available: "A limited number of shots can be made with a weapon that has the reload property. A character must then reload it using an action or a bonus action".
So can any character reload with a bonus action, or just 15th level gunslingers? Does this discrepancy come from the critical role influence?
Reload property on same page:
Reload. The weapon can be fired a number of times equal to its Reload score before you must spend 1 attack or 1 action to reload. You must have one free hand to reload a firearm.
You seem to have somehow found your way into a completely different book (DMG) while reading the same page (feature description/CR PDF)...
The reload property used by the CR gunslinger subclass and the firearms it adds is different from the reload property of firearms added by DMG.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
In the gunslingers table, gunslingers gain the Lightning reload ability at level 15, which allows them to "reload any firearm as a bonus action". However, when viewing the "reload" mechanic described on the same page, the following description is available: "A limited number of shots can be made with a weapon that has the reload property. A character must then reload it using an action or a bonus action".
So can any character reload with a bonus action, or just 15th level gunslingers? Does this discrepancy come from the critical role influence?
Firearm proficiency in the Gunslinger section says "Reload. The weapon can be fired a number of times equal to its Reload score before you must spend 1 attack or 1 action to reload. You must have one free hand to reload a firearm."
So the 15th level ability is reducing THIS reload rule to allowing a bonus action to be used instead.
It seems that the reload property published in the Critical Role supplement didn't realise that the reload property was already published in the DMG.
The Gunslinger is also based on the Pathfinder(?) gunslinger so it has misfire rules, which don't exist in the DMG for their firearm rules.
Reload property on same page:
You seem to have somehow found your way into a completely different book (DMG) while reading the same page (feature description/CR PDF)...
The reload property used by the CR gunslinger subclass and the firearms it adds is different from the reload property of firearms added by DMG.