Ok, just trying to understand the rules, so help me out....
Bladesinger using 2x scimitars can utilize two weapon fighting to get one primary attack, and one bonus attack (minus the ability damage). When the Bladesinger hits sixth level, they get the extra attack ability. So from what I found in searching was that this "extra attack" takes the place of a bonus action, therefore, do they just get two attacks with a primary weapon instead, and no off hand attack? Is that correct?
If that's the case, how is the Hexblade Warlock different with Polearm Master / Great Weapon Master and Thirsting Weapon using a glaive pact weapon? From my understanding, once they pick up Thirsting Blade, they can attack with the pact weapon twice, and then use a bonus action to get that third attack with the butt of the weapon. Is that correct?
If all the above is true, just trying to figure out why the warlock would get all three attacks, but the Bladesinger wouldn't based on the rules.
The second attack from Extra Attack doesn’t use your bonus action. You can still use TWF to get that third attack (still without the ability damage). Alternatively, the Bladesinger can use a cantrip in place of one of the two attacks.
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
Thirsting blade
You can attack with your pact weapon twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
I have bolded all differences in wording. The only difference is that Thirsting blade must attack with pact weapon, otherwise they function exactly the same way. You can attack twice with your action, and your bonus action is still available for whatever.
I'm not sure where you heard that bladesinger is different, but it is wrong.
I am not sure if its tasha or not but this is the ruling on my bladesingers extra attack.
Extra Attack
6th-level Bladesinging feature
You can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn. Moreover, you can cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.
So now there is nothing stopping you from attacking and then throwing a firebolt, acid splash, ect if you are a Bladesinger.
Ok, just trying to understand the rules, so help me out....
Bladesinger using 2x scimitars can utilize two weapon fighting to get one primary attack, and one bonus attack (minus the ability damage). When the Bladesinger hits sixth level, they get the extra attack ability. So from what I found in searching was that this "extra attack" takes the place of a bonus action, therefore, do they just get two attacks with a primary weapon instead, and no off hand attack? Is that correct?
If that's the case, how is the Hexblade Warlock different with Polearm Master / Great Weapon Master and Thirsting Weapon using a glaive pact weapon? From my understanding, once they pick up Thirsting Blade, they can attack with the pact weapon twice, and then use a bonus action to get that third attack with the butt of the weapon. Is that correct?
If all the above is true, just trying to figure out why the warlock would get all three attacks, but the Bladesinger wouldn't based on the rules.
Thanks in advance!
The second attack from Extra Attack doesn’t use your bonus action. You can still use TWF to get that third attack (still without the ability damage). Alternatively, the Bladesinger can use a cantrip in place of one of the two attacks.
Let's look at their wording:
Bladesinger extra attack
Thirsting blade
I have bolded all differences in wording. The only difference is that Thirsting blade must attack with pact weapon, otherwise they function exactly the same way. You can attack twice with your action, and your bonus action is still available for whatever.
I'm not sure where you heard that bladesinger is different, but it is wrong.
I am not sure if its tasha or not but this is the ruling on my bladesingers extra attack.
So now there is nothing stopping you from attacking and then throwing a firebolt, acid splash, ect if you are a Bladesinger.
Awesome, that's what I thought, but just wanted to verify. Thanks all!