So, I have a couple of questions about this spell. With the way this spell works, as I understand it, and please correct me if I'm wrong, it is cast as a reaction when you are successfully attacked. When that happens does it use a spell slot?
And, if you already have an active shied spell, and are successfully attacked again, does a second instance of shield activate, adding an additional 5 AC bonus or is there only one instance of the spell in effect?
For example: Sorcerer - AC 13, monster1 rolls an attack roll of 14. Shield activates, sorcerers AC is now 18. Monster2 rolls an attack roll of 19.
Does shield activate again, adding 5 to the AC of 18?
Yes. It is a level 1 spell. It requires a level 1 spell slot or higher to cast.
And, if you already have an active shied spell, and are successfully attacked again, does a second instance of shield activate, adding an additional 5 AC bonus or is there only one instance of the spell in effect?
Multiple instances of the same spell do not stack. If they have different strengths, only the highest value is applied.
By the way, the spell doesn't "automatically" activate when you're hit. You can choose to cast it (activate it) when you're hit (or targeted by Magic Missile), but you can choose not to (to save your spell slot, or Reaction), or you can be unable to (because of lack of spell slots, or because you've already used up your Reaction).
You have to cast the spell and use a slot, it isn’t automatic. And it lasts until the start of your next turn so if you have an AC of 13, shield raises it to 18 until the start of your next turn. During that time any number of monsters attacking you now have to roll a total of 18 (roll plus modifiers) to hit you.
So, I have a couple of questions about this spell. With the way this spell works, as I understand it, and please correct me if I'm wrong, it is cast as a reaction when you are successfully attacked. When that happens does it use a spell slot?
And, if you already have an active shied spell, and are successfully attacked again, does a second instance of shield activate, adding an additional 5 AC bonus or is there only one instance of the spell in effect?
For example: Sorcerer - AC 13, monster1 rolls an attack roll of 14. Shield activates, sorcerers AC is now 18. Monster2 rolls an attack roll of 19.
Does shield activate again, adding 5 to the AC of 18?
Yes. It is a level 1 spell. It requires a level 1 spell slot or higher to cast.
Multiple instances of the same spell do not stack. If they have different strengths, only the highest value is applied.
By the way, the spell doesn't "automatically" activate when you're hit. You can choose to cast it (activate it) when you're hit (or targeted by Magic Missile), but you can choose not to (to save your spell slot, or Reaction), or you can be unable to (because of lack of spell slots, or because you've already used up your Reaction).
You have to cast the spell and use a slot, it isn’t automatic. And it lasts until the start of your next turn so if you have an AC of 13, shield raises it to 18 until the start of your next turn. During that time any number of monsters attacking you now have to roll a total of 18 (roll plus modifiers) to hit you.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?