Ring of Spell Storing Ring, rare (requires attunement) This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
Pact Magic 1st level Your arcane research and the magic bestowed on you by your patron have given you facility with spells. See Spells Rules for the general rules of spellcasting and the Spells Listing for the warlock spell list.
Cantrips You know two cantrips of your choice from the warlock spell list. You learn additional warlock cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Warlock table.
Spell Slots The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your warlock spells of 1st through 5th level. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. To cast one of your warlock spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a spell slot. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a short or long rest.
For example, when you are 5th level, you have two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level spell witch bolt, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it as a 3rd-level spell.
Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher At 1st level, you know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the warlock spell list.
The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table’s Slot Level column for your level. When you reach 6th level, for example, you learn a new warlock spell, which can be 1st, 2nd, or 3rd level.
Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Spellcasting Ability Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your warlock spells, so you use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a warlock spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.
Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
Spellcasting Focus You can use an arcane focus (see the Adventuring Gear section) as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells. ------------------------------------------------------
Okay Long story short...By the way i understand the Pact Magic of a Warlock any spell they cast is cast from the highest spell slot than can do, correct...Now, using the Ring of spell storing uses a spell slot of the ring. And that anyone can Put a spell into a ring, even if they aren't attuned to it. So could a Warlock in a party have 5 different scaling spells in from party members put in the ring, and while the Warlock is attuned to it, each of those spells is cast at the highest level of the warlock? This question comes up especially for higher levels, but a warlock losses the ability to infuse spells into the ring efficiently by the way i understand it.
TLDR: So could a 9th level warlock and beyond, have their allies cast 1st level spells into the ring and when the warlock cast them they become 5th level spells?
This is a very Min/Max type of thing but am I understanding this correctly. I don't mind being wrong.
The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.
It uses all the numbers that it had on your ally's character sheet at the time they cast it into the ring, but is considered as being cast by you (you're "the caster," it uses your action economy, etc.).
Still a pretty good item for a Warlock though, they'll appreciate having an extra few casts of their own spells, considering their limited number of slots per encounter!
I played a Warlock once who had a Ring of Spell Storing and I only had other characters cast spells into it. It was great used that way, but the spells were cast at the level used to cast them into the ring, not 5th level.
A Ring of Spell Storing is incredibly powerful! Where it’s weak is when a warlock of 5th level or higher has it and is the only spell caster in the party. Then the warlock can only put one spell into it, which is painful since it’s a 3rd level spell!
It's a good item to have for a Warlock. Some spells don't scale like darkness. It gives the Warlock access to two extra darkness spells, combine this with Eldritch Blast and Devil's Sight. Rejoice two extra combats with a obfuscated Warlock casting Eldritch Blast whilst being hidden.
It's a good item to have for a Warlock. Some spells don't scale like darkness. It gives the Warlock access to two extra darkness spells, combine this with Eldritch Blast and Devil's Sight. Rejoice two extra combats with a obfuscated Warlock casting Eldritch Blast whilst being hidden.
The spell might not scale, but the Pact Magic slots that a Warlock uses to cast with do. So eventually the Warlock will only be able to store one spell in the ring, giving them just one extra spell per day. Nah, give me a Rod Of The Pact Keeper. Still only one extra spell per day, but it comes with a boost to my DC and Spell Attack bonus.
Sure, but we have never found one of those Rods, a ring of spell storing we have found at least two times. And I'll need to inform the DM's I play with the speels do level up even only in slots. But I figure they're going to house rule it to stay as we have been doing anyway.
Sure, but we have never found one of those Rods, a ring of spell storing we have found at least two times. And I'll need to inform the DM's I play with the speels do level up even only in slots. But I figure they're going to house rule it to stay as we have been doing anyway.
That’s a house rule, and if your DM chooses to let you do that, it’s fine. But it’s not how the rules are written. That’s why when my warlock had one he had other PCs fill it with spells instead of filling it himself.
Yeah that's true, it's a house rule. Our parties are too small a lot of the time to have more than two spell casters and even then, I've played at tables without Divine Casters. We try but sometimes It just isn't in the cards.
I suppose arguably, the Ring is really great for racial casters, or anyone with a feat like Magic Initiate that allows you to cast spells without using spell slots, or to launder spells from other magic items that cast spells?
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast.
Has a Fire Genasi using Reach to the Blaze to cast a fist-level Burning Hands "cast a spell of 1st through 5th level"? Yes, so they may cast it "into the ring."
The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring.
Is any 1-5th level spell "cast into the ring" stored in the ring? At this point, looks like it...
The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time
...
If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
Why would the ring be unable to hold the spell? The only suggestion we're given is that spells "use space" based on the level of their spell slot, and that the ring can hold "up to 5 levels."
If a 1-5th level spell can be cast into the ring no matter what, but only "uses space" if it uses a spell slot.... it can hold an unlimited number of Burning Hands cast by our Fire Genasi, yes? While I doubt it's intended to work that way, it seems to be the natural conclusion from the reliance on spell slots for determining "space used," but not as a precondition for "storing."
I'm a Warlock and our party has a bear totem Barbarian. I would love to cast Armor of Agathys into a ring of spell storing for her to use. Unfortunately, she can't use [spell[Shadow of Moil[/spell] while raging, but many other melee characters would love to have access to that spell. A ring of spell storing is great for a Warlock because you get your spell slots back so quickly, so it is really easy to cast a spell into the ring, and then short rest and get the spell slot back. Even if you can only store 1 spell in the ring, it's still great to give a non-spellcasting ally one casting of a 5th level spell and to be able to refill the ring after a short rest.
The best use of the ring of spellstoring is to give a non-spellcasting ally the ability to cast a powerful spell.
The Ring of Spell Storing is designed for a non-caste - the key is the attunement. For the RSS, you need to be attuned to use the ring, but not to load it with a spell.
Things we use it for:
Curatives. Example: Healing or Greater Restoration when facing a Petrifying creature. That way if the Cleric is goes down, we can fix him up.
Counters. Examples: Feather fall or Counter Spell. So there are two people that can save us
Self spells. Examples: Shield, False Life, Blur. So that non-casters can benefit from them
Ring of Spell Storing
Ring, rare (requires attunement)
This ring stores spells cast into it, holding them until the attuned wearer uses them. The ring can store up to 5 levels worth of spells at a time. When found, it contains 1d6 − 1 levels of stored spells chosen by the GM.
Any creature can cast a spell of 1st through 5th level into the ring by touching the ring as the spell is cast. The spell has no effect, other than to be stored in the ring. If the ring can't hold the spell, the spell is expended without effect. The level of the slot used to cast the spell determines how much space it uses.
While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell. The spell cast from the ring is no longer stored in it, freeing up space.
Notes: Buff, Utility, Jewelry
-----------------------------------------------------
Pact Magic
1st level
Your arcane research and the magic bestowed on you by your patron have given you facility with spells. See Spells Rules for the general rules of spellcasting and the Spells Listing for the warlock spell list.
Cantrips
You know two cantrips of your choice from the warlock spell list. You learn additional warlock cantrips of your choice at higher levels, as shown in the Cantrips Known column of the Warlock table.
Spell Slots
The Warlock table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your warlock spells of 1st through 5th level. The table also shows what the level of those slots is; all of your spell slots are the same level. To cast one of your warlock spells of 1st level or higher, you must expend a spell slot. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a short or long rest.
For example, when you are 5th level, you have two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level spell witch bolt, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it as a 3rd-level spell.
Spells Known of 1st Level and Higher
At 1st level, you know two 1st-level spells of your choice from the warlock spell list.
The Spells Known column of the Warlock table shows when you learn more warlock spells of your choice of 1st level and higher. A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table’s Slot Level column for your level. When you reach 6th level, for example, you learn a new warlock spell, which can be 1st, 2nd, or 3rd level.
Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell list, which also must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Spellcasting Ability
Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your warlock spells, so you use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a warlock spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.
Spell save DC = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier
Spellcasting Focus
You can use an arcane focus (see the Adventuring Gear section) as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells.
------------------------------------------------------
Okay Long story short...By the way i understand the Pact Magic of a Warlock any spell they cast is cast from the highest spell slot than can do, correct...Now, using the Ring of spell storing uses a spell slot of the ring. And that anyone can Put a spell into a ring, even if they aren't attuned to it. So could a Warlock in a party have 5 different scaling spells in from party members put in the ring, and while the Warlock is attuned to it, each of those spells is cast at the highest level of the warlock? This question comes up especially for higher levels, but a warlock losses the ability to infuse spells into the ring efficiently by the way i understand it.
TLDR: So could a 9th level warlock and beyond, have their allies cast 1st level spells into the ring and when the warlock cast them they become 5th level spells?
This is a very Min/Max type of thing but am I understanding this correctly. I don't mind being wrong.
No.
It uses all the numbers that it had on your ally's character sheet at the time they cast it into the ring, but is considered as being cast by you (you're "the caster," it uses your action economy, etc.).
Still a pretty good item for a Warlock though, they'll appreciate having an extra few casts of their own spells, considering their limited number of slots per encounter!
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Negative. The spells are stored and cast at the level of them stored and by the caster whom stored them.
for warlocks. It’s basically an item to get some extra spell slots at a weakened level.
for anyone else. It’s helpful.
the ring of spell storing overall was more designed originally to be helpful to classes that don’t get all their spell slots back on short rests.
Or for non-magic users/full casters. To have a few “good tricks” up their sleeves.
Watch me on twitch
I played a Warlock once who had a Ring of Spell Storing and I only had other characters cast spells into it. It was great used that way, but the spells were cast at the level used to cast them into the ring, not 5th level.
Professional computer geek
okay cool...seemed fishy but I didn't want a player to feel like im nerfing anything of theirs
A Ring of Spell Storing is incredibly powerful! Where it’s weak is when a warlock of 5th level or higher has it and is the only spell caster in the party. Then the warlock can only put one spell into it, which is painful since it’s a 3rd level spell!
Professional computer geek
It's a good item to have for a Warlock. Some spells don't scale like darkness. It gives the Warlock access to two extra darkness spells, combine this with Eldritch Blast and Devil's Sight. Rejoice two extra combats with a obfuscated Warlock casting Eldritch Blast whilst being hidden.
The spell might not scale, but the Pact Magic slots that a Warlock uses to cast with do. So eventually the Warlock will only be able to store one spell in the ring, giving them just one extra spell per day. Nah, give me a Rod Of The Pact Keeper. Still only one extra spell per day, but it comes with a boost to my DC and Spell Attack bonus.
Sure, but we have never found one of those Rods, a ring of spell storing we have found at least two times. And I'll need to inform the DM's I play with the speels do level up even only in slots. But I figure they're going to house rule it to stay as we have been doing anyway.
That’s a house rule, and if your DM chooses to let you do that, it’s fine. But it’s not how the rules are written. That’s why when my warlock had one he had other PCs fill it with spells instead of filling it himself.
Professional computer geek
Yeah that's true, it's a house rule. Our parties are too small a lot of the time to have more than two spell casters and even then, I've played at tables without Divine Casters. We try but sometimes It just isn't in the cards.
I suppose arguably, the Ring is really great for racial casters, or anyone with a feat like Magic Initiate that allows you to cast spells without using spell slots, or to launder spells from other magic items that cast spells?
Has a Fire Genasi using Reach to the Blaze to cast a fist-level Burning Hands "cast a spell of 1st through 5th level"? Yes, so they may cast it "into the ring."
Is any 1-5th level spell "cast into the ring" stored in the ring? At this point, looks like it...
Why would the ring be unable to hold the spell? The only suggestion we're given is that spells "use space" based on the level of their spell slot, and that the ring can hold "up to 5 levels."
If a 1-5th level spell can be cast into the ring no matter what, but only "uses space" if it uses a spell slot.... it can hold an unlimited number of Burning Hands cast by our Fire Genasi, yes? While I doubt it's intended to work that way, it seems to be the natural conclusion from the reliance on spell slots for determining "space used," but not as a precondition for "storing."
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I'm a Warlock and our party has a bear totem Barbarian. I would love to cast Armor of Agathys into a ring of spell storing for her to use. Unfortunately, she can't use [spell[Shadow of Moil[/spell] while raging, but many other melee characters would love to have access to that spell. A ring of spell storing is great for a Warlock because you get your spell slots back so quickly, so it is really easy to cast a spell into the ring, and then short rest and get the spell slot back. Even if you can only store 1 spell in the ring, it's still great to give a non-spellcasting ally one casting of a 5th level spell and to be able to refill the ring after a short rest.
The best use of the ring of spellstoring is to give a non-spellcasting ally the ability to cast a powerful spell.
The Ring of Spell Storing is designed for a non-caste - the key is the attunement. For the RSS, you need to be attuned to use the ring, but not to load it with a spell.
Things we use it for: