The spell says any creature leaves when the spell is over. However it doesn't say anything about objects. Does that mean I can leave things there and they will stay in the mansion until I can the spell again? Could I build traps and other things inside and use it as a murder house. Maybe upgrade it every now and then?
The extradimensional space from Magnificent Mansion is created new every time the spell is cast. While it is poorly written, assume that anything brought into the space is expelled along with the creatures.
Or, if your DM is cruel, anything you leave in the Mansion disappears into the infinite void and is lost forever.
There's an errata for this, but I'll need to find it.
Here, straight from Sage Advice:
What happens to objects brought inside and left inside Mordenkainen’s magnificent mansion when the spell ends?
The intent is that the objects are ejected from the mansion when the spell ends and appear in unoccupied spaces closest to where the door was. This intent will be reflected in future printings of the Player’s Handbook.
Anything brought into the Mansion is neatly scattered around the entrance when the spell expires, including any gear and living things. Memnosyne was correct in that RAW, there are no rules about a continuation.
I would house rule that re-casting the spell in the same spot before expiry allows it to continue to function as a storage for people and things.
The spell says any creature leaves when the spell is over. However it doesn't say anything about objects. Does that mean I can leave things there and they will stay in the mansion until I can the spell again? Could I build traps and other things inside and use it as a murder house. Maybe upgrade it every now and then?
The extradimensional space from Magnificent Mansion is created new every time the spell is cast. While it is poorly written, assume that anything brought into the space is expelled along with the creatures.
Or, if your DM is cruel, anything you leave in the Mansion disappears into the infinite void and is lost forever.
There is no continuity between castings.
Thank you very much!
There's an errata for this, but I'll need to find it.
Here, straight from Sage Advice:
What happens to objects brought inside and left inside Mordenkainen’s magnificent mansion when the spell ends?
The intent is that the objects are ejected from the mansion when the spell ends and appear in unoccupied spaces closest to where the door was. This intent will be reflected in future printings of the Player’s Handbook.
Anything brought into the Mansion is neatly scattered around the entrance when the spell expires, including any gear and living things. Memnosyne was correct in that RAW, there are no rules about a continuation.
I would house rule that re-casting the spell in the same spot before expiry allows it to continue to function as a storage for people and things.