First of all I'm sorry for my English, it's not my native language :
A 6thlevel Blade Singer wizard in DND gains the Extra Atack feature, which literally states: 'When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can make two attacks instead of one. You can also cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.' So far, so good. Now, there's a debate about whether the Blade Singer, when casting Haste on themselves, gains an extra action that can only be used for attacking or taking the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action. In my interpretation, this character could: Attack + Cantrip (using their regular action) and with the extra action from Haste, attack + attack. However, the Dungeon Master argues that they could only: Attack + Cantrip + Attack because the action granted by Haste is not a regular action. Below is the literal text of the Haste spell.
My theory is that it states gaining an extra action on each of their turns, which should be treated as an additional action despite its limitations. The Dungeon Master's theory is that, since it specifies only one weapon attack in parentheses, only one attack can be performed. However, I interpret the text in parentheses as clarifying that the attack must be physical, excluding the use of a magical attack with that action.
"it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action"
So the Haste action when attacking can only be used to make a single weapon attack.
So you can Normal Attack Action : Weapon Attack + Weapon Attack OR Weapon Attack + Cantrip , then Hasted Attack Action : Weapon Attack
The hasted attack is not eligible under Extra Attack by its wording, so you cannot change the attack to a cantrip.
If you instead used Action Surge from 2 levels of Fighter, that extra Action can be used as a normal Attack Action which would qualify under Extra Attack and basically let you weapon attack twice and cast two cantrips in a single turn, if wanted.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
First of all I'm sorry for my English, it's not my native language :
A 6thlevel Blade Singer wizard in DND gains the Extra Atack feature, which literally states: 'When you take the Attack action on your turn, you can make two attacks instead of one. You can also cast one of your cantrips in place of one of those attacks.' So far, so good. Now, there's a debate about whether the Blade Singer, when casting Haste on themselves, gains an extra action that can only be used for attacking or taking the Dash, Disengage, or Hide action. In my interpretation, this character could: Attack + Cantrip (using their regular action) and with the extra action from Haste, attack + attack. However, the Dungeon Master argues that they could only: Attack + Cantrip + Attack because the action granted by Haste is not a regular action. Below is the literal text of the Haste spell.
My theory is that it states gaining an extra action on each of their turns, which should be treated as an additional action despite its limitations. The Dungeon Master's theory is that, since it specifies only one weapon attack in parentheses, only one attack can be performed. However, I interpret the text in parentheses as clarifying that the attack must be physical, excluding the use of a magical attack with that action.
Sorry Linklite but you are incorrect.
From the Haste spell:
"it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action"
So the Haste action when attacking can only be used to make a single weapon attack.
So you can Normal Attack Action : Weapon Attack + Weapon Attack OR Weapon Attack + Cantrip , then Hasted Attack Action : Weapon Attack
The hasted attack is not eligible under Extra Attack by its wording, so you cannot change the attack to a cantrip.
If you instead used Action Surge from 2 levels of Fighter, that extra Action can be used as a normal Attack Action which would qualify under Extra Attack and basically let you weapon attack twice and cast two cantrips in a single turn, if wanted.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Ah I missed that part.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.