I am new to D&D and I am having trouble understand the Cleric Class. It says in the cleric table that the cleric knows two spell. But when look futher in the Players handbook at the Divine Domain, there are two spells listed there. Do I have to take those two spells as the spells I know or do I get them as part of the spells I know (for a total of 4 spells) and i still get to choose two more. Or I get two spells period and depending on which Divine Domain I choose for this character those listed in that particular domain are the spell i have to take or are the suggested ones I should take?
A cleric knows all the spell in the cleric spell list. But the cleric can cast only spell he has prepared.
The general rule is that a cleric can prepare a number of spell equal to: WIS modifier + cleric level. That number in the table, is the number of spell slots, namely the number of spell of 1st level you can cast before a long rest.
The spell of the Domain are in addition to the amount WIS modifier + cleric level.
Spells known doesn't really apply to Clerics - they're different to Wizards etc in that respect. Clerics automatically know all spells in the Cleric lists, plus their domain spells (cantrips are an exception).
What you're interested in is "Spells Prepared" which is equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell).
The spells listed for the chosen domain are in addition to the spells prepared.
So, for example, a first level cleric of Life Domain with a 16 wisdom (+3 modifier).
Number of spells prepared = Wisdom Modifier (+3) plus Cleric level (1) = 4.
As a cleric of Life Domain, they automatically have Bless and Cure Wounds prepared, without expending any of their number of spells prepared.
In this case, our Life domain cleric will actually have a total of 6 spells prepared then (4 plus Bless & Cure Wounds).
I am new to D&D and I am having trouble understand the Cleric Class. It says in the cleric table that the cleric knows two spell. But when look futher in the Players handbook at the Divine Domain, there are two spells listed there. Do I have to take those two spells as the spells I know or do I get them as part of the spells I know (for a total of 4 spells) and i still get to choose two more. Or I get two spells period and depending on which Divine Domain I choose for this character those listed in that particular domain are the spell i have to take or are the suggested ones I should take?
A cleric knows all the spell in the cleric spell list. But the cleric can cast only spell he has prepared.
The general rule is that a cleric can prepare a number of spell equal to: WIS modifier + cleric level. That number in the table, is the number of spell slots, namely the number of spell of 1st level you can cast before a long rest.
The spell of the Domain are in addition to the amount WIS modifier + cleric level.
Spells known doesn't really apply to Clerics - they're different to Wizards etc in that respect. Clerics automatically know all spells in the Cleric lists, plus their domain spells (cantrips are an exception).
What you're interested in is "Spells Prepared" which is equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell).
The spells listed for the chosen domain are in addition to the spells prepared.
So, for example, a first level cleric of Life Domain with a 16 wisdom (+3 modifier).
Number of spells prepared = Wisdom Modifier (+3) plus Cleric level (1) = 4.
As a cleric of Life Domain, they automatically have Bless and Cure Wounds prepared, without expending any of their number of spells prepared.
In this case, our Life domain cleric will actually have a total of 6 spells prepared then (4 plus Bless & Cure Wounds).
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊