"Empowered Evocation Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast."
"Alchemical Savant 5th-level Alchemist feature
You've developed masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1)."
I tried to test myself on Beyond's Dice Rolling but I can't figure out how to "activate Enpowered Evocation", even when I tested in only wizard character sheet it didn't took it into account. (Guessing its because of the "CAN" on the perk description).
This is a bit of a weird one and I really can't be certain either way - but I feel like the answer is no.
It seems that you can only use your Alchemist Supplies (or any tool) as a spellcasting focus for Artificer spells (or rather - spells granted by the Artificer's Spellcasting feature) - and Empowered Evocation only works on your Wizard spells (which are granted by the Wizard's spellcasting feature).
Honestly I don't think it would be that big of a deal if a DM let you apply both since you'd have to be at least level 15 anyway - and you're sacrificing higher level spells by taking some levels in Artificer.
I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong - and I would love it - because these kind rules get too ambiguous for my liking and I'd appreciate the clarification.
This is a bit of a weird one and I really can't be certain either way - but I feel like the answer is no.
It seems that you can only use your Alchemist Supplies (or any tool) as a spellcasting focus for Artificer spells (or rather - spells granted by the Artificer's Spellcasting feature) - and Empowered Evocation only works on your Wizard spells (which are granted by the Wizard's spellcasting feature).
That should be the correct answer (however a DM might let you stack the bonuses) because whilst both classes use Int as their spellcasting ability modifier, they aren't the same spell list and count as different spell lists for features like this.
When you cast the spell it's either a Wizard spell (using an Arcane focus where applicable, as per the Spellcasting Focus part of the Spellcasting feature on the Wizard page) or an Artificer spell (specifically using the Alchemist Supplies as per the OP, which is notably not even applying if you use a different set of tools or an infused item). Even if you have the spell selected from both lists then you would choose which class it's being cast as.
This is a bit of a weird one and I really can't be certain either way - but I feel like the answer is no.
It seems that you can only use your Alchemist Supplies (or any tool) as a spellcasting focus for Artificer spells (or rather - spells granted by the Artificer's Spellcasting feature) - and Empowered Evocation only works on your Wizard spells (which are granted by the Wizard's spellcasting feature).
Honestly I don't think it would be that big of a deal if a DM let you apply both since you'd have to be at least level 15 anyway - and you're sacrificing higher level spells by taking some levels in Artificer.
I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong - and I would love it - because these kind rules get too ambiguous for my liking and I'd appreciate the clarification.
Just adding my two cents, I agree with everything in the quote (I expect they dont stack according to RAW, as a DM I would probably allow it to stack because of the investment required to get there).
There is only one way that you would ever be able to cast a wizard spell with alchemist supplies according to RAW, If you take the artificer initiate feat then you can cast any int based spell with a tool you specify in the feat(also you would need to use the feat to become proficient with the tool which means you would need 4 levels of wizard before your 3rd lvl artificer)
This is a bit of a weird one and I really can't be certain either way - but I feel like the answer is no.
It seems that you can only use your Alchemist Supplies (or any tool) as a spellcasting focus for Artificer spells (or rather - spells granted by the Artificer's Spellcasting feature) - and Empowered Evocation only works on your Wizard spells (which are granted by the Wizard's spellcasting feature).
Honestly I don't think it would be that big of a deal if a DM let you apply both since you'd have to be at least level 15 anyway - and you're sacrificing higher level spells by taking some levels in Artificer.
I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong - and I would love it - because these kind rules get too ambiguous for my liking and I'd appreciate the clarification.
Just adding my two cents, I agree with everything in the quote (I expect they dont stack according to RAW, as a DM I would probably allow it to stack because of the investment required to get there).
There is only one way that you would ever be able to cast a wizard spell with alchemist supplies according to RAW, If you take the artificer initiate feat then you can cast any int based spell with a tool you specify in the feat(also you would need to use the feat to become proficient with the tool which means you would need 4 levels of wizard before your 3rd lvl artificer)
I am not sure if alchemist supplies is the same of the artificer focus, but if it is: There is another way to cast a Wizard Spell using one artificer focus: "After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus" So, since you can infuse you wand/rod in theory you can meet both requisites, right?
BTW: I agree with you guys about the "not power level broken", and I believe it wouldnt't be a problem in my table. Just got curious about how it suppose to be on RAW.
I am not sure if alchemist supplies is the same of the artificer focus, but if it is:
There is another way to cast a Wizard Spell using one artificer focus: "After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus" So, since you can infuse you wand/rod in theory you can meet both requisites, right?
BTW: I agree with you guys about the "not power level broken", and I believe it wouldnt't be a problem in my table. Just got curious about how it suppose to be on RAW.
Unfortunately the feature specifies Alchemist Supplies not other foci "Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus" so any focus other than alchemist supplies doesn't trigger the feature
The answer is no, they don't stack. Its a little janky, but because it specifies that you add your modifiers specifically to WIZARD evocation spells or to spells cast using your alchemy supplies as a focus. Within the Wizard class you are unable to cast wizard spells unless you have a proper spell casting focus, which alchemy supplies are not. You are able to use alchemy supplies for wizard spellcasting because they are alchemists Artificer spell casting focus.
It's one of those situations where the class makes the difference. Even though the spell lists have some overlap and both use intelligence they are seperated by class requirements.
Title says it all...
"Empowered Evocation
Beginning at 10th level, you can add your Intelligence modifier to one damage roll of any wizard evocation spell you cast."
"Alchemical Savant
5th-level Alchemist feature
You've developed masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1)."
I tried to test myself on Beyond's Dice Rolling but I can't figure out how to "activate Enpowered Evocation", even when I tested in only wizard character sheet it didn't took it into account. (Guessing its because of the "CAN" on the perk description).
Thanks for you time, and you help!
I would say no, but can't quote a passage in the rules that would support this.
Generally, you never apply any bonus more than once, even if doing multiple rolls (take critical hit for example, you add str/dex only once).
This is a bit of a weird one and I really can't be certain either way - but I feel like the answer is no.
It seems that you can only use your Alchemist Supplies (or any tool) as a spellcasting focus for Artificer spells (or rather - spells granted by the Artificer's Spellcasting feature) - and Empowered Evocation only works on your Wizard spells (which are granted by the Wizard's spellcasting feature).
Honestly I don't think it would be that big of a deal if a DM let you apply both since you'd have to be at least level 15 anyway - and you're sacrificing higher level spells by taking some levels in Artificer.
I'm sure someone will come along and tell me I'm wrong - and I would love it - because these kind rules get too ambiguous for my liking and I'd appreciate the clarification.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
That should be the correct answer (however a DM might let you stack the bonuses) because whilst both classes use Int as their spellcasting ability modifier, they aren't the same spell list and count as different spell lists for features like this.
When you cast the spell it's either a Wizard spell (using an Arcane focus where applicable, as per the Spellcasting Focus part of the Spellcasting feature on the Wizard page) or an Artificer spell (specifically using the Alchemist Supplies as per the OP, which is notably not even applying if you use a different set of tools or an infused item). Even if you have the spell selected from both lists then you would choose which class it's being cast as.
Please take a look at my homebrewed Spells, Magic Items, and Subclasses. Any feedback appreciated.
Just adding my two cents, I agree with everything in the quote (I expect they dont stack according to RAW, as a DM I would probably allow it to stack because of the investment required to get there).
There is only one way that you would ever be able to cast a wizard spell with alchemist supplies according to RAW, If you take the artificer initiate feat then you can cast any int based spell with a tool you specify in the feat(also you would need to use the feat to become proficient with the tool which means you would need 4 levels of wizard before your 3rd lvl artificer)
I am not sure if alchemist supplies is the same of the artificer focus, but if it is:
There is another way to cast a Wizard Spell using one artificer focus: "After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus"
So, since you can infuse you wand/rod in theory you can meet both requisites, right?
BTW: I agree with you guys about the "not power level broken", and I believe it wouldnt't be a problem in my table. Just got curious about how it suppose to be on RAW.
Unfortunately the feature specifies Alchemist Supplies not other foci "Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus" so any focus other than alchemist supplies doesn't trigger the feature
The answer is no, they don't stack. Its a little janky, but because it specifies that you add your modifiers specifically to WIZARD evocation spells or to spells cast using your alchemy supplies as a focus. Within the Wizard class you are unable to cast wizard spells unless you have a proper spell casting focus, which alchemy supplies are not. You are able to use alchemy supplies for wizard spellcasting because they are alchemists Artificer spell casting focus.
It's one of those situations where the class makes the difference. Even though the spell lists have some overlap and both use intelligence they are seperated by class requirements.
Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."