When I go to add a spell to a magic item, there is an ability to provide it with a Save DC, but no way to provide it with a Spell Attack. This seems strange to me. Am I missing something? Relevant Screencap:
You'll want to remove the cast at spell level. It's a cantrip, they don't have spell levels and cannot be cast at higher spell levels. They scale automatically with Character level.
Save DC is used if you want to override a Save DC.
Unless it's a balance by rarity thing like spell scrolls, attack and save dcs are usually best left blank which means it will use the spellcasting ability, attack and save dc of the best spellcasting feature if they have one - or treat their spellcasting ability as 10 in score +0 mod and base attack/save off that. This is detailed in Magic Items section of DMG.
While overriding Save DCs sometimes occurs in magic items it's very rare for one to override the attack and its never done for a specific spell being granted (spell scrolls and spell gems do, but it's just text in description, they don't need modifiers since there's no specific spell). Since no magic item, offically, overrides the attack of a granted spell, the builder doesn't have this.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
While overriding Save DCs sometimes occurs in magic items it's very rare for one to override the attack and its never done for a specific spell being granted (spell scrolls and spell gems do, but it's just text in description, they don't need modifiers since there's no specific spell). Since no magic item, offically, overrides the attack of a granted spell, the builder doesn't have this.
Actually, I'm going to point you to the circlet of blasting, which states that the spell is cast with a +5 attack bonus. It's not outside of official content to dictate a spell attack bonus. I think the detail you've pointed out is more of an indication to how many spells require attack rolls (35 as found on the Spells listing) versus how many call for saving throws (213).
When I go to add a spell to a magic item, there is an ability to provide it with a Save DC, but no way to provide it with a Spell Attack. This seems strange to me. Am I missing something? Relevant Screencap:
You'll want to remove the cast at spell level. It's a cantrip, they don't have spell levels and cannot be cast at higher spell levels. They scale automatically with Character level.
Save DC is used if you want to override a Save DC.
Unless it's a balance by rarity thing like spell scrolls, attack and save dcs are usually best left blank which means it will use the spellcasting ability, attack and save dc of the best spellcasting feature if they have one - or treat their spellcasting ability as 10 in score +0 mod and base attack/save off that. This is detailed in Magic Items section of DMG.
While overriding Save DCs sometimes occurs in magic items it's very rare for one to override the attack and its never done for a specific spell being granted (spell scrolls and spell gems do, but it's just text in description, they don't need modifiers since there's no specific spell). Since no magic item, offically, overrides the attack of a granted spell, the builder doesn't have this.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Actually, I'm going to point you to the circlet of blasting, which states that the spell is cast with a +5 attack bonus. It's not outside of official content to dictate a spell attack bonus. I think the detail you've pointed out is more of an indication to how many spells require attack rolls (35 as found on the Spells listing) versus how many call for saving throws (213).