Assume Way of the Astral Self monk and Battle Smith artificer:
Do the monk unarmed strikes count as magic weapon attacks for the purpose of the artificer Arcane Jolt? I know they count as magic weapons for the purposes of overcoming resistance and immunity to non-magical attack and damage but do not give a +n bonus like other magic weapons. And, I know that they count as weapon attacks. But I'm not clear if that means they count for purposes of the Arcane Jolt.
That’s a good question. I would think not. Your unarmed strikes counts as magic but only when dealing with resistances. They are not actually magic, however. If it had been worded better, like maybe ”when you hit with an attack with a magic weapon or your steel defender” it would have been clearer.
maybe someone else has a different perspective. And ultimately it comes down to your DM
Assume Way of the Astral Self monk and Battle Smith artificer:
Do the monk unarmed strikes count as magic weapon attacks for the purpose of the artificer Arcane Jolt? I know they count as magic weapons for the purposes of overcoming resistance and immunity to non-magical attack and damage but do not give a +n bonus like other magic weapons. And, I know that they count as weapon attacks. But I'm not clear if that means they count for purposes of the Arcane Jolt.
I agree.. they are not magical weapons in the sense of being Magical.. but solely for the purpose of over coming resistances they are Magical...
...so NO, they would not work with the Smith Artificer ability, unless you wanted a house ruling otherwise, where as you Smith creates gloves or wraps that your monk wears.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Assume Way of the Astral Self monk and Battle Smith artificer:
Do the monk unarmed strikes count as magic weapon attacks for the purpose of the artificer Arcane Jolt? I know they count as magic weapons for the purposes of overcoming resistance and immunity to non-magical attack and damage but do not give a +n bonus like other magic weapons. And, I know that they count as weapon attacks. But I'm not clear if that means they count for purposes of the Arcane Jolt.
That’s a good question. I would think not. Your unarmed strikes counts as magic but only when dealing with resistances. They are not actually magic, however. If it had been worded better, like maybe ”when you hit with an attack with a magic weapon or your steel defender” it would have been clearer.
maybe someone else has a different perspective. And ultimately it comes down to your DM
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
You've answered your question right there. :)
I agree.. they are not magical weapons in the sense of being Magical.. but solely for the purpose of over coming resistances they are Magical...
...so NO, they would not work with the Smith Artificer ability, unless you wanted a house ruling otherwise, where as you Smith creates gloves or wraps that your monk wears.