Can I apply Hunter's Mark damage multiple times per turn if I have the ability to make multiple attacks on the same turn? Right now I am playing a Gloomstalker Assassin. So with dread ambusher I get an extra attack with my bow on round one. I don't have the extra attack feature yet, but I will in two more levels. I am assuming I can because the spell says: " ... you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack... " I am assuming whenever means it is always applied every time that enemy is hit with a weapon attack, even multiple times on the same turn. Am I correct?
Considering I am playing a Gloomstalker assassin, when dread ambusher goes off with assassinate, would the auto crit also double the extra d8 from dread ambusher? Or is that just an extra d8?
Critical hits double all of the attack's damage dice, no matter the source.
Just remember not to double any damage that's the result of a saving throw, or from features that increase the damage of a critical hit directly like the Barbarian's Brutal Critical.
And since you play an assassin - poison applied to a weapon is not doubled, even if it doesn't allow a save. The attack is just a delivery-channel for the poison.
And since you play an assassin - poison applied to a weapon is not doubled, even if it doesn't allow a save. The attack is just a delivery-channel for the poison.
No, critical hits double all damage dice associated with the attack. There's nothing special about poisons that would exclude them from that rule, except most poisons deal damage on a hit indirectly through a saving throw instead of adding the damage directly to the attack.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can I apply Hunter's Mark damage multiple times per turn if I have the ability to make multiple attacks on the same turn? Right now I am playing a Gloomstalker Assassin. So with dread ambusher I get an extra attack with my bow on round one. I don't have the extra attack feature yet, but I will in two more levels. I am assuming I can because the spell says: " ... you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack... " I am assuming whenever means it is always applied every time that enemy is hit with a weapon attack, even multiple times on the same turn. Am I correct?
Thanks in advance!
You're correct. Hunter's Mark is a Ranger's bread and butter.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Thank you sir!
Just be sure to use your Bonus Action to move your Hunter's Mark to your new target after it's down.
So many Rangers forget that.
Considering I am playing a Gloomstalker assassin, when dread ambusher goes off with assassinate, would the auto crit also double the extra d8 from dread ambusher? Or is that just an extra d8?
Critical hits double all of the attack's damage dice, no matter the source.
Just remember not to double any damage that's the result of a saving throw, or from features that increase the damage of a critical hit directly like the Barbarian's Brutal Critical.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Got it, thanks!
And since you play an assassin - poison applied to a weapon is not doubled, even if it doesn't allow a save. The attack is just a delivery-channel for the poison.
No, critical hits double all damage dice associated with the attack. There's nothing special about poisons that would exclude them from that rule, except most poisons deal damage on a hit indirectly through a saving throw instead of adding the damage directly to the attack.
The Forum Infestation (TM)