Transmuted Spell When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder.
Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath
Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to wield the power of the storm with unchecked ferocity.
When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling.
Neither say when you have to announce you are using it. If this is the case, if you have both, can you wait for when you roll a critical, then use both?
I'm asking this because I've got an idea for a Tempest Cleric with Metamagic adept feat. casting inflict wound, converting it to Lightning with Metamagic, then Destructive Wrath it.
I know this would be a DM choice, and please do not answer if it's just a moral statement or anti-optimization statement. I'm Interested in RAW and mechanics of these options.
Transmuted happens when you cast a spell, so before any attack rolls, saving throws or damage rolls. Destructive wrath happens just before you roll damage, so after any attack roll or saving throw.
This means the Metamagic must be used before you know whether the spell hits, but the channel divinity can be used after. You will run out of metamagic uses quite quickly, but it remains a powerful combination.
You can't change inflict wounds to be lighting damage. "Transmuted Spell - When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder." Necrotic damage isn't on that list and would not be able to be transmuted into another damage type.
However, if you wanted to multiclass into Scribes Wizard, you can swap damage types around freely within your spell book as along as you cast a wizard spell. This wouldn't help you with inflict wounds, but you could throw a particularly nasty Fire Lighting Ball that would deal max damage to a bunch of creatures.
Transmuted Spell When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, [...]
Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath
When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity [...]
Neither say when you have to announce you are using it. If this is the case, if you have both, can you wait for when you roll a critical, then use both?
They both say when they are used. It is the first words in their effects. You can wait for a crit before using CD, but not the metamagic.
I'm asking this because I've got an idea for a Tempest Cleric with Metamagic adept feat. casting inflict wound, converting it to Lightning with Metamagic, then Destructive Wrath it.
Inflict wounds does not deal "acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, [or] thunder" damage, so can't be used with transmute spell.
Just to add: if you take 1 level of sorcerer, you won't have a rule on you limiting how many sorcery points you can have (Font of Magic has terrible interactions with Metamagic Adept, RAW, but L1 sorcerers don't have Font of Magic). Aside from the 2 points Metamagic Adept provides, you are also now qualified to attune to a Bloodwell Vial or three, which can provide a lot more sorcery points for your idea - you'll go from 2/long rest to 2/long rest + 5/dawn/vial. Others have already pointed out the issue with Inflict Wounds, but the core of the idea is still sound.
Your only practical limit on vials is GM fiat (since it's a magic item) on how many you can get your hands on and hit dice (since you need to spend a hit die to trigger the vial). Otherwise, you can go past three, since you can attune to a new vial with the same short rest you use to spend a hit die to activate the vial.
Bear in mind any vial you're attuned to will also stack with an amulet of the devout for all spell attack rolls and for the saving throw DCs of your sorcerer spells (amulet of the devout is missing the wording on its buff to save DCs that the other class specific +X items in TCOE have to class-restrict them).
Just to add: if you take 1 level of sorcerer, you won't have a rule on you limiting how many sorcery points you can have (Font of Magic has terrible interactions with Metamagic Adept, RAW, but L1 sorcerers don't have Font of Magic). Aside from the 2 points Metamagic Adept provides, you are also now qualified to attune to a Bloodwell Vial or three, which can provide a lot more sorcery points for your idea - you'll go from 2/long rest to 2/long rest + 5/dawn/vial. Others have already pointed out the issue with Inflict Wounds, but the core of the idea is still sound.
You can't benefit from the same magic item multiple times, but +5 is still handy.
Just to add: if you take 1 level of sorcerer, you won't have a rule on you limiting how many sorcery points you can have (Font of Magic has terrible interactions with Metamagic Adept, RAW, but L1 sorcerers don't have Font of Magic). Aside from the 2 points Metamagic Adept provides, you are also now qualified to attune to a Bloodwell Vial or three, which can provide a lot more sorcery points for your idea - you'll go from 2/long rest to 2/long rest + 5/dawn/vial. Others have already pointed out the issue with Inflict Wounds, but the core of the idea is still sound.
You can't benefit from the same magic item multiple times, but +5 is still handy.
Right, but you can benefit from two different blood vials multiple times (in this case, twice per dawn - once per dawn per vial).
Just to add: if you take 1 level of sorcerer, you won't have a rule on you limiting how many sorcery points you can have (Font of Magic has terrible interactions with Metamagic Adept, RAW, but L1 sorcerers don't have Font of Magic). Aside from the 2 points Metamagic Adept provides, you are also now qualified to attune to a Bloodwell Vial or three, which can provide a lot more sorcery points for your idea - you'll go from 2/long rest to 2/long rest + 5/dawn/vial. Others have already pointed out the issue with Inflict Wounds, but the core of the idea is still sound.
You can't benefit from the same magic item multiple times, but +5 is still handy.
Right, but you can benefit from two different blood vials multiple times (in this case, twice per dawn - once per dawn per vial).
I guess, if the party wants to take 2 short rests in a row so you can unattune the used on and attune a fresh one.
I guess, if the party wants to take 2 short rests in a row so you can unattune the used on and attune a fresh one.
If you wanted 10 at once, sure. Or you could grab the 5 separately, on the short rests you're taking anyway.
Since you don't have Font of Magic, I believe you can also do this during downtime (even if you have only one vial), and escalate to infinite sorcery points. Metamagic Adept hasn't got any wording I can see to prevent this, and neither does the Bloodwell Vial. Just don't take a second level in sorcerer.
Since you don't have Font of Magic, I believe you can also do this during downtime (even if you have only one vial), and escalate to infinite sorcery points. Metamagic Adept hasn't got any wording I can see to prevent this, and neither does the Bloodwell Vial. Just don't take a second level in sorcerer.
The vial says you "regain" sorcery points, not "gain". That means you can only gain points that you have used up - you can't gain points beyond your normal limit.
Since you don't have Font of Magic, I believe you can also do this during downtime (even if you have only one vial), and escalate to infinite sorcery points. Metamagic Adept hasn't got any wording I can see to prevent this, and neither does the Bloodwell Vial. Just don't take a second level in sorcerer.
The vial says you "regain" sorcery points, not "gain". That means you can only gain points that you have used up - you can't gain points beyond your normal limit.
Without Font of Magic, you have no normal limit, but I'm sure some/many GMs will agree with your sentiment and impose some sort of limit where none exists (presumably, in this case, 2). Otherwise, provided it has been at least 3 days since you gained the feat, you will have been able to have spent at least 5 in your lifetime, and hence the verb "regain" will grammatically apply to the number 5.
Since you don't have Font of Magic, I believe you can also do this during downtime (even if you have only one vial), and escalate to infinite sorcery points. Metamagic Adept hasn't got any wording I can see to prevent this, and neither does the Bloodwell Vial. Just don't take a second level in sorcerer.
The vial says you "regain" sorcery points, not "gain". That means you can only gain points that you have used up - you can't gain points beyond your normal limit.
Without Font of Magic, you have no normal limit, but I'm sure some/many GMs will agree with your sentiment and impose some sort of limit where none exists (presumably, in this case, 2). Otherwise, provided it has been at least 3 days since you gained the feat, you will have been able to have spent at least 5 in your lifetime, and hence the verb "regain" will grammatically apply to the number 5.
Sure. Good luck with your "because I have no cup means I get infinite refills," pitch to your DM.
I'm not going to waste energy arguing with that kind of logic.
Without Font of Magic, you have no normal limit, but I'm sure some/many GMs will agree with your sentiment and impose some sort of limit where none exists (presumably, in this case, 2). Otherwise, provided it has been at least 3 days since you gained the feat, you will have been able to have spent at least 5 in your lifetime, and hence the verb "regain" will grammatically apply to the number 5.
Who has no normal limit? A character with no source of sorcery points has a limit of no sorcery points. A character with Metamagic Adept has a limit of 2 sorcery points (anything beyond that is not "regaining"), as does a lvl 2 Sorcerer with Font of Magic. A Character with both of those has a limit of 4.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
after watching Treantmonk's Shock Jock video, I was trying to think a Nova lightning Cleric, and this option doesn't even need to multiclass.
Metamagic:Transmuted Spell + Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath
Question about when do they have to be announced.
Transmuted Spell
When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder.
Channel Divinity: Destructive Wrath
Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to wield the power of the storm with unchecked ferocity.
When you roll lightning or thunder damage, you can use your Channel Divinity to deal maximum damage, instead of rolling.
Neither say when you have to announce you are using it. If this is the case, if you have both, can you wait for when you roll a critical, then use both?
I'm asking this because I've got an idea for a Tempest Cleric with Metamagic adept feat. casting inflict wound, converting it to Lightning with Metamagic, then Destructive Wrath it.
I know this would be a DM choice, and please do not answer if it's just a moral statement or anti-optimization statement. I'm Interested in RAW and mechanics of these options.
Thanks.
Transmuted happens when you cast a spell, so before any attack rolls, saving throws or damage rolls. Destructive wrath happens just before you roll damage, so after any attack roll or saving throw.
This means the Metamagic must be used before you know whether the spell hits, but the channel divinity can be used after. You will run out of metamagic uses quite quickly, but it remains a powerful combination.
Thanks, I mean, that's what's logical, and I guess when you read it as '"When" you cast a spell' not 'When ever you cast a spell'.
I suppose it's still good if a hold person happens with an upcast.
You can't change inflict wounds to be lighting damage. "Transmuted Spell - When you cast a spell that deals a type of damage from the following list, you can spend 1 sorcery point to change that damage type to one of the other listed types: acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, thunder." Necrotic damage isn't on that list and would not be able to be transmuted into another damage type.
However, if you wanted to multiclass into Scribes Wizard, you can swap damage types around freely within your spell book as along as you cast a wizard spell. This wouldn't help you with inflict wounds, but you could throw a particularly nasty
FireLighting Ball that would deal max damage to a bunch of creatures.Buyers Guide for D&D Beyond - Hardcover Books, D&D Beyond and You - How/What is Toggled Content?
Everything you need to know about Homebrew - Homebrew FAQ - Digital Book on D&D Beyond Vs Physical Books
Can't find the content you are supposed to have access to? Read this FAQ.
"Play the game however you want to play the game. After all, your fun doesn't threaten my fun."
They both say when they are used. It is the first words in their effects. You can wait for a crit before using CD, but not the metamagic.
Inflict wounds does not deal "acid, cold, fire, lightning, poison, [or] thunder" damage, so can't be used with transmute spell.
Just to add: if you take 1 level of sorcerer, you won't have a rule on you limiting how many sorcery points you can have (Font of Magic has terrible interactions with Metamagic Adept, RAW, but L1 sorcerers don't have Font of Magic). Aside from the 2 points Metamagic Adept provides, you are also now qualified to attune to a Bloodwell Vial or three, which can provide a lot more sorcery points for your idea - you'll go from 2/long rest to 2/long rest + 5/dawn/vial. Others have already pointed out the issue with Inflict Wounds, but the core of the idea is still sound.
Your only practical limit on vials is GM fiat (since it's a magic item) on how many you can get your hands on and hit dice (since you need to spend a hit die to trigger the vial). Otherwise, you can go past three, since you can attune to a new vial with the same short rest you use to spend a hit die to activate the vial.
Bear in mind any vial you're attuned to will also stack with an amulet of the devout for all spell attack rolls and for the saving throw DCs of your sorcerer spells (amulet of the devout is missing the wording on its buff to save DCs that the other class specific +X items in TCOE have to class-restrict them).
You can't benefit from the same magic item multiple times, but +5 is still handy.
Damn, I missed some simple reading of necrotic not being on the list. Thanks guys, back to the drawing board.
Right, but you can benefit from two different blood vials multiple times (in this case, twice per dawn - once per dawn per vial).
I guess, if the party wants to take 2 short rests in a row so you can unattune the used on and attune a fresh one.
If you wanted 10 at once, sure. Or you could grab the 5 separately, on the short rests you're taking anyway.
Since you don't have Font of Magic, I believe you can also do this during downtime (even if you have only one vial), and escalate to infinite sorcery points. Metamagic Adept hasn't got any wording I can see to prevent this, and neither does the Bloodwell Vial. Just don't take a second level in sorcerer.
The vial says you "regain" sorcery points, not "gain". That means you can only gain points that you have used up - you can't gain points beyond your normal limit.
Without Font of Magic, you have no normal limit, but I'm sure some/many GMs will agree with your sentiment and impose some sort of limit where none exists (presumably, in this case, 2). Otherwise, provided it has been at least 3 days since you gained the feat, you will have been able to have spent at least 5 in your lifetime, and hence the verb "regain" will grammatically apply to the number 5.
Sure. Good luck with your "because I have no cup means I get infinite refills," pitch to your DM.
I'm not going to waste energy arguing with that kind of logic.
Who has no normal limit? A character with no source of sorcery points has a limit of no sorcery points. A character with Metamagic Adept has a limit of 2 sorcery points (anything beyond that is not "regaining"), as does a lvl 2 Sorcerer with Font of Magic. A Character with both of those has a limit of 4.