Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Thanks in advance.
Being near the caster isn't relevant to anything.
Being near the point of origin of the AOE isn't relevant to anything.
What matters is twofold:
Overlapping the two effects.
What happens when the two effects do not completely overlap.
"Dispelled" is not a defined game term and hence it is up to your DM whether only part of the spell is dispelled (so the remaining part of the spell AOE remains dark) or the entire spell is dispelled. The reason the entire spell is dispelled when you use Dispel Magic is due to special rules contained in the Dispel Magic spell that do not apply to the Light domain Channel Divinity.
Just to be explicitly clear, this means that when the two effects do not completely overlap, what happens to the part of the spell outside of the channel divinity is explicitly up to DM fiat and you need to ask your DM what happens.
Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Thanks in advance.
Being near the caster isn't relevant to anything.
Being near the point of origin of the AOE isn't relevant to anything.
What matters is twofold:
Overlapping the two effects.
What happens when the two effects do not completely overlap.
"Dispelled" is not a defined game term and hence it is up to your DM whether only part of the spell is dispelled (so the remaining part of the spell AOE remains dark) or the entire spell is dispelled. The reason the entire spell is dispelled when you use Dispel Magic is due to special rules contained in the Dispel Magic spell that do not apply to the Light domain Channel Divinity.
Just to be explicitly clear, this means that when the two effects do not completely overlap, what happens to the part of the spell outside of the channel divinity is explicitly up to DM fiat and you need to ask your DM what happens.
I understand. Dispel Magic is specific whereas the term 'Dispel' within the CD ability is not. Makes sense.
Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Id say when using Radiance of the Dawn , only magical darkness within 30 feet of you is dispelled, not the effect causing it nor any magical darkness outside that range. So only the portion of the Darkness spell that is within range of your Channel Divinity would vanish, regardlessn of the caster's location.
Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Id say when using Radiance of the Dawn , only magical darkness within 30 feet of you is dispelled, not the effect causing it nor any magical darkness outside that range. So only the portion of the Darkness spell that is within range of your Channel Divinity would vanish, regardlessn of the caster's location.
This is how I prefer to run it as well; overcoming the effect of darkness (and similar) rather than ending the spell entirely, meaning the area of darkness will come back once the areas no longer overlap.
In general I prefer not to end spells at all unless there is some kind of cost to doing so (as in casting dispel magic specifically to do this) because otherwise you're forcing something to be wasted for no benefit, whereas a dispelled spell has still cost something to get rid of (i.e- the benefit was costing a spell slot).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Looking at the Light Cleric's Radiance of the Dawn CD ability, it says that it dispels magical Darkness with 30'. Darkness, the spell, covers a 15' radius from a point the caster chooses within 60'. So where exactly does the Cleric need to be in order to dispel the Darkness in this case? Within 30' of the caster, within 30' of the edge of the Darkness or within 30' of the center of the darkness (the point where it was cast)?
Thanks in advance.
I understand. Dispel Magic is specific whereas the term 'Dispel' within the CD ability is not. Makes sense.
Id say when using Radiance of the Dawn , only magical darkness within 30 feet of you is dispelled, not the effect causing it nor any magical darkness outside that range. So only the portion of the Darkness spell that is within range of your Channel Divinity would vanish, regardlessn of the caster's location.
This is how I prefer to run it as well; overcoming the effect of darkness (and similar) rather than ending the spell entirely, meaning the area of darkness will come back once the areas no longer overlap.
In general I prefer not to end spells at all unless there is some kind of cost to doing so (as in casting dispel magic specifically to do this) because otherwise you're forcing something to be wasted for no benefit, whereas a dispelled spell has still cost something to get rid of (i.e- the benefit was costing a spell slot).
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.